Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2010, 04:26 PM   #1
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Share |
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Hello everyone,

I want to change 2 Receptacles in a bedroom, I took off the wallplate and killed the power, took one of them out and found this, No ground wire, do i have to get GFI receptacles? Sorry about the picture, I'm not an artist.

Thanks,
Sellncars


Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 04:33 PM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


if you have no ground wire then the replacement outlets should be GFCI outlets.

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 04:51 PM   #3
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
if you have no ground wire then the replacement outlets should be GFCI outlets.

I thank you very much, i just wanted to make sure before i went out and bought them.
Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 04:52 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,798
Rewards Points: 30
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


You can replace it with a gfci, or another 2 wire receptacle.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:31 PM   #5
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
You can replace it with a gfci, or another 2 wire receptacle.
First i must say that I'm not an electrician, but am safety conscience more so with electricity then anything else. ( I like life ). What I'm going after is more so a ground then just replacing these receptacles. Is the GFCI going to take care of Ground? House was built in the mid 50's and has wire that has like a mesh covering it, except where Romex has been added over the years.

Thanks,
Sellncars
Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:33 PM   #6
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


The ground is used to provide a more conductive path for errant current than the human. Thus you do not get the shock. But the GFI is allowed in this case since it monitors for fault currents and shuts off when one exists over a limit that will hurt you.
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


If you want a ground you will need to run new wire
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:47 PM   #8
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Nobody suggested that he check to see if the (metal) box is grounded? I mean ok fat chance, but if it is he can install a normal outlet.
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:59 PM   #9
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Thanks for the help everyone, Then it sounds like if it isn't broken don't fix it.
Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:05 PM   #10
Automotive Enthusiast
 
Sellncars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to Sellncars Send a message via Yahoo to Sellncars
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Quote:
Originally Posted by brons2 View Post
Nobody suggested that he check to see if the (metal) box is grounded? I mean ok fat chance, but if it is he can install a normal outlet.

Hello,

Thanks for the thought, but not in this house, i looked and didn't see any ground wire anywhere in that small box. There are alot of things in this house that were done wrong back in the day, the wiring was apparently one of them, then the walls not being straight in areas, 3 rooms on 1 circuit, Drop ceiling in the basement not being lined up with the ceiling joist's ( Impossible to install recessed lighting in center of tiles, unless ripping it all down and redo over, had opened junction box's ( fixed now ) and so on and so on.
Sellncars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:10 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


You can install a GFCI device or a GFCI breaker. Any ungrounded receptacles that are "3 prong" grounded receptacles on a 2 wire system must be labeled with two stickers in order to be code-legal.
1) "GFCI protected"
2) "No equipment ground"
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:14 PM   #12
E-lec-tri-city
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 162
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via ICQ to brons2 Send a message via AIM to brons2 Send a message via MSN to brons2 Send a message via Yahoo to brons2
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sellncars View Post
3 rooms on 1 circuit,
I got some of that in my house too, including receptacles in two bathroom and two bedrooms on one circuit, total of about 14 and no GFCI. I feel much better now that I am redoing the whole thing.
brons2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:16 PM   #13
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 489
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Maybe now is a good time to tell the story of the woman getting shocked when she washed her hands in the bathroom sink:

Husband had replaced the bathroom receptacle with a GFCI in the bathroom. Metal Gem box. No ground. He thought the GFCI protected them. He crammed the big GFCI in the small box and the hot wire on the line side of the GFCI touched the metal box. Metal box was touching iron drain pipe in wet-wall. Drains are now at 120V. Supply pipes at ground potential. If she had taken a shower instead of washing her hands, she would probably be dead.

This is not a job for a DIY. There's a reason it takes MANY years and significant training to be an electrician.

Mark
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:20 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


Quote:
Originally Posted by busman View Post

This is not a job for a DIY. There's a reason it takes MANY years and significant training to be an electrician.

Mark
This is DIY CHATROOM, and this is a perfectly acceptable job for a DIYer. When someone's over their head that is one thing, but the OP is getting good info and doing their homework. If simple electrical work were only done by electricians, what good would this subforum be? With the proper homework and preparation (including permits and inspections) there are numerous electrical jobs in a home that a competent DIYer can handle.
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 07:26 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Need advise on Receptical change..


I've rewired most of my house, installed 3 sub-panels, a hot tub, pool pumps, GFCI & AFCI

All as DIY, its what this site is all about

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion on Contractor Estimates/Contracts ARI001 General DIY Discussions 19 11-25-2009 10:47 PM
Need advise for roof DIYJAY Roofing/Siding 17 05-20-2009 02:32 PM
Changing potty. Do I need to change the flange out? tarheelblue Plumbing 9 09-04-2008 11:41 PM
Need some serious advise on heating system helpless handyman HVAC 26 12-07-2006 05:28 PM
change color of flooring and other wood finishing, possible? KUIPORNG Remodeling 3 07-20-2006 06:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.