DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum (http://www.diychatroom.com/)
-   Electrical (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/)
-   -   need advice/opinions on recessed layout (http://www.diychatroom.com/f18/need-advice-opinions-recessed-layout-35952/)

satchmo75 01-15-2009 08:54 AM

need advice/opinions on recessed layout
 
Hello, Im planning my recessed project for my living room and just wanted opinions and advice. Im putting in 3 inch air tite halogen fixtures and will be tapping into a switched outlet and putting on dimmer. I drew a layout and would like opinions from others. Thanks the room is 12 x 10 and will be putting in 8 lights.

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z...ssedLayout.jpg

theatretch85 01-15-2009 09:03 AM

Well for starters you cannot have an outlet controlled by a dimmer switch, you'd have to make the outlet constant hot and put only the recessed lights on the dimmer switch.

As far as where the lights are located, I'd say put them where you want the light. There have been a couple threads about spacing on recessed lights in the forums here, so I'd suggest searching the forums for those threads to get some ideas. It was stated on here before what the size of the light cast on the floor would be given the size of the light and the height, you could use that to figure out how many you need to get the desired effect.

Piedmont 01-15-2009 12:00 PM

Good advice already given, I 2nd it is against code to have an outlet controlled by a dimmer. Makes sense cause you only have to have someone unplug the light in the outlet and plug in a vacuum cleaner (my vacuum cleaner is 12 amps) to be in danger (turning it into a dimmer controlled vacuum cleaner, or if they plug in a hair dryer instead... way too much for a dimmer to handle!!!).

My issue with that layout, do you plan on playing any board games in the living room? You're missing lights in the middle (on a seperate switch). We play games in ours and find it very annoying we don't have lights in the center. We end up having to use an extension cord and drag a lamp to get light in the middle. It's not easy to fix if you didn't put a light in the middle, it's not like there's an outlet in the middle you can usually plug a lamp into whereas if you're too dark around the perimeter it's very easy to add a lamp(s).

drdon51 01-15-2009 12:04 PM

I put 6 3inch halogens with gimble eyeballs that you can adjust to any angle in a room <can use them as wall washers> in a room 16 x 20 and had plenty of light. Your room might be to small for that many lights,you dont want to take away from the effect---Just a thought

rgsgww 01-15-2009 12:18 PM

8 cans? I would run a new line from the panel labeled "Living rm lights".

You need to count the watts up for each can is rated, you might need two dimmers or one big one.

satchmo75 01-15-2009 03:17 PM

yeah, was going to do 8 (50 watt ) cans on a dimmer pretty much for accent lighting around the room. Have a table lamp against the wall if needed. Usually the room is for relaxing and watching tv....not really for board games and such

220/221 01-15-2009 05:24 PM

I am thinking you should schootch the bottom can on the left over to the center of that short wall. It seems like artwork or decorative furniture would go there.

drdon51 01-15-2009 07:45 PM

3 lights <find center put first light--split difference to wall for rest><4 lights divide the rooms lenght by 5>I suggest holding the lights more to.wards the outside of the room around 2 ft

satchmo75 01-15-2009 09:24 PM

I think the drawing gave the impression of the zig zag by the steps being a full wall. Heres a true pic, its a banister. Hope this helps see a clearer pic. Any advice?

http://i195.photobucket.com/albums/z...0115092013.jpg

drdon51 01-15-2009 10:03 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Heres what I done Pics are a little blurry and I couldnt get the whole room in picture. I used 3 cans down each side. These airtight cans are very large and pretty expensive and the trims are about as much as the cans

satchmo75 01-16-2009 06:42 AM

Thanks drdon, your room looks great! We ended up making cardboard circles last night and putting the up as if they were the lights. We are going with 6 now as well, your in put and seeing how crowded the ceiling would be solidified our decision. I got the Halo 3 inch air tites, the were in Home Depot marked from $25 each to $18 on sale as well as the trims $18 each but in the long run prob well worth the money spent. Thanks again for your help

drdon51 01-16-2009 11:31 AM

The only problem I had was <when you cut out your circles make sure you are percise because the trims leave no room for error--They dont have much of a lip.Its easier to have someone in the room while your in the attic to try and help get the lip of the can flush with the drywall.---

satchmo75 01-16-2009 11:35 AM

there is no attic above, im putting remodel cans in because there is still another floor above. i'll cut inside the line and trim as needed...thanks

drdon51 01-16-2009 11:57 AM

How are you going to get your feed from one side of the room to another with no dry wall damage if you have floor joists in the way.

satchmo75 01-16-2009 01:17 PM

Im pulling power from a switched outlet on the wall, going to make that constant hot and use the switch for the lights. Im going to run the wire up the wall,cut a hole in ceiling and notch and nail plate the studs. The joist above are open trusses running from side to side of the house, use the metal fishing rell and send it through and across....shouldnt be bad at all. I did my basement with remodels too..same way.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Copyright 2003-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved