DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

NEC uses building size??????

4K views 14 replies 6 participants last post by  hhiibel 
#1 ·
My county uses the NEC. I don't know it because I'm not a professional. I've tapped an unused 240V/50amp breaker in my house and done a long run to a stable I'm constructing. Inspector visited before construction, saw the wire in the ground and said OK.

Inspector came out a few days ago. He said: due to the size of my building it doesn't pass because at least 60 amps is required for a building that size. Right now, all I have is a contractor panel on a pole in the ground. I haven't started the wiring in the stable. I planned on needing 120V/60amps. I haven't spoken to the inspector. I wasn't there. The panel is 240V. I don't know what amperage/volt he measured. The three phase wiring is visible at the pole. I calculated I'd see about 240V/30amps due to drop(actually calc said 36amps). I haven't measured.

Here's my question: Does the NEC put forth Amp requirements based on building size? If so, does this take building use into consideration? If so, what use/classification is my building?

My building is a single story, 96'x42' stable. 12 stalls. 2 rooms(tack/feed). Cement floor aisle way and rooms. Dirt floors in stalls. No hot water. No bathroom. Like I said 120V/60amps would more than cover what I planned.

The rooms are fully enclosed 12'x15' each.

Thanks.

Howard.

See less See more
#3 ·
I just looked at the 2005 NEC

what I found was table 20-102(i think that's the number) about non-dwelling farm building load calc. This table could be interpreted as saying the minimum load is set at 240V/60amps.

Chris,

It sounds like you're interpreting this table to be just the calc descibed. I wasn't positive about how to interpret the additional wording about 60 amps.

Thanks.

Howard.

#5 ·