Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2011, 06:18 PM   #16
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Yea I think your right Jim because I can't find it either. But I have a friend that works with Arc electric(which is a union shop) and he said that's the way they do it. So maybe it is just a jurisdiction thing
It is not in the NEC amendments for NYC. These are the newest NYC amendments for NYC.

http://www.nyc.gov/html/dob/download...w_39of2011.pdf

You should always know the local/state amendments for where you are working.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-17-2011)
Old 09-17-2011, 06:55 PM   #17
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
So no one knows the answer to my original question?
It has been that way for years. It is all about saving money, by not running more wire than what is needed to finish the job.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 08:07 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
It has been that way for years. It is all about saving money, by not running more wire than what is needed to finish the job.
Well my comp sure acts like it's code. But I will ask my boss come Monday
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 08:17 PM   #19
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Well my comp sure acts like it's code. But I will ask my boss come Monday
Did you look at the link I posted? It is not in the NYC amendments.

NYC is the area you asking about, correct?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 10:31 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


IIRC the New York Métro is a full code cycle behind and with few changes along the codes I will get a hold one guy he live in that métro so he should know the answer in quick way so give me a bit of the time I will PM in other fourm to see what he reply to moi.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 10:52 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05

Did you look at the link I posted? It is not in the NYC amendments.

NYC is the area you asking about, correct?
Yea I looked at it, but I'm gonna ask him because they sure at like it's law
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 11:05 PM   #22
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Yea I looked at it, but I'm gonna ask him because they sure at like it's law
Actually that that is a good idea. In a polite way ask for the code section or amendment. Don't be pushy, just explain that you want to learn.

There many myths about the code and this is good way to find out.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 11:08 PM   #23
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


You still owe me an answer on grounding/bonding.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:09 AM   #24
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
Yea I looked at it, but I'm gonna ask him because they sure at like it's law
Yes, it is fine to ask, but as already pointed out, NFPA, and NYC info as pointed out. All you are going to do, is possibly confuse yourself even more, and could also possibly get a mis-interpretation of the info you have already been advised to read through.

If Switch legs were not allowed, they would not be used as much as they have. They are even done in DC circuits, because they work, and it is a lesser cost when wiring switches.

Last edited by gregzoll; 09-18-2011 at 08:13 AM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 06:31 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Sounds like the NEC and municipal approvers should learn a concept from the computer programming world - a concept so ingrained that it even shows up on interview questions: YAGNI


You Ain't Gonna Need It. All the stuff you do for "future" never gets used; in fact it can make maintenance on what is used more confusing.
dalepres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 06:49 PM   #26
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dalepres View Post
Sounds like the NEC and municipal approvers should learn a concept from the computer programming world - a concept so ingrained that it even shows up on interview questions: YAGNI


You Ain't Gonna Need It. All the stuff you do for "future" never gets used; in fact it can make maintenance on what is used more confusing.
If you think that way when playing with Electricity, you are not going to be around very long.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-18-2011)
Old 09-18-2011, 07:05 PM   #27
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
If you think that way when playing with Electricity, you are not going to be around very long.
That's 'cause electricity don't play fair.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 09:39 PM   #28
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,271
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
That's 'cause electricity don't play fair.
Your telling me. You really have to hate it, when you go to a town, and you are not getting the latest upgrade, and their service is still Electric 2.0, vs at home, you are getting version 3.5. And what I really hate, is when they have not updated the virus database, like a couple of weeks ago, when the fuse blew, and all of the malware was leaking out of the transformer can on to the ground.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to gregzoll For This Useful Post:
Code05 (09-19-2011), frenchelectrican (09-19-2011)
Old 09-19-2011, 07:21 AM   #29
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Your telling me. You really have to hate it, when you go to a town, and you are not getting the latest upgrade, and their service is still Electric 2.0, vs at home, you are getting version 3.5. And what I really hate, is when they have not updated the virus database, like a couple of weeks ago, when the fuse blew, and all of the malware was leaking out of the transformer can on to the ground.
LMAO
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 10:25 AM   #30
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Your telling me. You really have to hate it, when you go to a town, and you are not getting the latest upgrade, and their service is still Electric 2.0, vs at home, you are getting version 3.5. And what I really hate, is when they have not updated the virus database, like a couple of weeks ago, when the fuse blew, and all of the malware was leaking out of the transformer can on to the ground.
C'est bon !

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI breaker requirement Ranger31 Electrical 5 08-21-2011 09:07 PM
Vapor barrier requirement for finished basement JTK Building & Construction 13 02-05-2011 04:30 PM
Compost or top soil requirement cprao Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 12-28-2010 05:01 PM
Height requirement for boiler shutoff switch secutanudu Electrical 2 10-13-2010 07:28 AM
Panel Upgrade space requirement joshvette001 Electrical 4 05-02-2010 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.