Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-17-2011, 12:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Share |
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Hey guys!! This topic was started in another thread but to avoid changing the subject of that thread, we agreed to start a new one. In my days of being in this trade(3 years) we have always ran all of our home runs into our light, then to the switch when we were doing commercial work. Now I'm "almost" sure it's code but I can't find it. And not sure of weather it's NEC or NYC code. Can anyone help?

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:40 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,023
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Switch legs are fine. They actually save wire.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:41 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,831
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


2011 NEC requires a grounded conductor at each SWITCH box with a couple of exceptions.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll
Switch legs are fine. They actually save wire.
You mean "switch loop"
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:58 PM   #5
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,023
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B.

You mean "switch loop"
It is what ever you want call it. In the Navy, we called them suicide legs.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 01:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
2011 NEC requires a grounded conductor at each SWITCH box with a couple of exceptions.
I don't own the 2011 NEC yet, and NYC hasn't adopted it yet either.
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 02:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric
2011 NEC requires a grounded conductor at each SWITCH box with a couple of exceptions.
I don't see the significants of a grounded conductor in every switch box either
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 02:32 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,139
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Most times you don't need it, but just think how much easier it will be in 10 years when the home owner decides he wants a timer instead of a switch.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 02:33 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by darren
Most times you don't need it, but just think how much easier it will be in 10 years when the home owner decides he wants a timer instead of a switch.
Good point!
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 03:35 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,514
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunny B. View Post
I don't see the significants of a grounded conductor in every switch box either
This is being done to allow the use of switching devices that may require a neutral like a timer, lighted switch or a smart switch. Apparently too many were using the grounding conductor when a neutral was required and the code panels did not want this to continue.

The grounded conductor is not needed if a conduit system is used and there is space for one to be installed later, or if one side of the wall is open to allow it to be added.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-17-2011), gregzoll (09-17-2011)
Old 09-17-2011, 03:59 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


I hate this stupid new rule. If UL hadn't approved devices that used the grounding conductor as a neutral, The code panel would not have had to cave in and accept it.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-17-2011)
Old 09-17-2011, 04:10 PM   #12
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,514
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Just another example of the the panels needing to address something through the codes because untrained people, or uncaring, are installing things that should not have been installed until the correct wiring was installed. I see this as a design issue which the code says it is not a design manual.


I know technology will change, but still see this as wasteful by forcing an install that may never get utilized.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
SD515 (09-18-2011)
Old 09-17-2011, 04:52 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


So no one knows the answer to my original question?
Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 05:03 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,514
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


It is not in the NEC.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2011, 05:17 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 218
Default

Is this a NEC requirement?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port
It is not in the NEC.
Yea I think your right Jim because I can't find it either. But I have a friend that works with Arc electric(which is a union shop) and he said that's the way they do it. So maybe it is just a jurisdiction thing

Sunny B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI breaker requirement Ranger31 Electrical 5 08-21-2011 09:07 PM
Vapor barrier requirement for finished basement JTK Building & Construction 13 02-05-2011 04:30 PM
Compost or top soil requirement cprao Landscaping & Lawn Care 10 12-28-2010 05:01 PM
Height requirement for boiler shutoff switch secutanudu Electrical 2 10-13-2010 07:28 AM
Panel Upgrade space requirement joshvette001 Electrical 4 05-02-2010 04:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.