Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
Share |
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


I'm finding my own interpretation of the terminology unclear, from the NEC:

"Each conductor that originates outside the box and terminates within the box shall be counted once, and each conductor that passes through the box without splice or termination shall be counted once."


So for example: one 12 gage conductor enters the junction box, is spliced to one other 12 gage conductor which then exits the junction box...this is counted as ONE or TWO conductors in determining the Conductor FIll?

Lovegasoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:02 AM   #2
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,526
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Lovegasoline View Post
I'm finding my own interpretation of the terminology unclear, from the NEC:

"Each conductor that originates outside the box and terminates within the box shall be counted once, and each conductor that passes through the box without splice or termination shall be counted once."


So for example: one 12 gage conductor enters the junction box, is spliced to one other 12 gage conductor which then exits the junction box...this is counted as ONE or TWO conductors in determining the Conductor FIll?
Counts as TWO

__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:06 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


If it is spliced then that ends "that" conductor & the spliced conductor is another wire
Each spliced conductor counts as one
Say you have a conductor that enters the box in conduit & continues on - unspliced
That counts as one
Now you cut it & splice it to another conductor going into a new conduit
Now the original wire counts as 2, the new one counts as one

Does that make sense ?
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:11 AM   #4
Household Handyman
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Albany, Ga.
Posts: 2,237
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


I'm finding my own interpretation of the terminology unclear, from the NEC:

With all due respect sir: You have now joined a very long line of people.
Thankfully, there are those such as "Scuba_Dave" and "HouseHelper" out there to help us all. Thanks, David
Thurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 11:22 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


Thanks for the answers. Yes, now it's clear.
Lovegasoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 12:08 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,851
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


Good afternoon (my time) guys.....


Stubbie is sitting here waiting on the concrete truck to start a pour on a new driveway addition. The Flat Work guys were supposed to be here over a month ago... finally got here yesterday and got the area ready. Seems like this is the norm around here with concrete contractors....
Attached Thumbnails
NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?-box-fill.jpg  
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 160
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


An informative illustration, thanks.

[Not too many illustrations ...are there even any(?)... in the NEC Code book I have. It's not a bad idea...].


Btw, in the illustration above let's assume the cable is all BX.
For conductors #5 & #6 which pass through the box: barring any special tools, what's the easiest way to cut away the BX to expose the conductors without damaging the wires? Do you twist the cable and/or twist and bend it until the armor unlinks from itself and then snip in one place and start unraveling it?



And yes Thurman, many thanks to contributors on the forum for the sharing of knowledge.

Last edited by Lovegasoline; 12-02-2009 at 10:49 PM.
Lovegasoline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 10:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

NEC Junction Box Conductor FIll: A Single Splice is counted as Two Conductors?


There is an NEC handbook that has illustrations
Not sure it has ones as good as Stubbies

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Single Gang Box used as a Junction? Winchester Electrical 9 09-02-2008 05:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.