Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2010, 07:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 45
Share |
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


I need to install a switched outlet in my crawlspace and would like to install it according to NEC but as a DIY'er I don't have the code book handy.

Main question is: do I need to use a GFCI outlet and or an "outdoor outlet assembly"? My crawl is dry and this will not be used for a sump pump. I plan to use it to power a 300W indoor / outdoor 12V magnetic transformer.

I appreciate your advice.

kooshball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 08:10 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,779
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


Yes it needs to be a GFI or GFI protected.
No, it does not need an outdoor cover.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:05 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


You mention that it is to be switched. I would have it be fed from a GFCI breaker, or install a GFCI receptacle before the switch and have the switch control a 'regular' receptacle. Many GFI receptacles I've installed trip instantly when the power is first established. If you put the switch before the GFI, there's a chance it will trip when the switch is turned on. Check it first...might save you some headaches.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 09:35 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 45
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


Quote:
Originally Posted by SD515 View Post
You mention that it is to be switched. I would have it be fed from a GFCI breaker, or install a GFCI receptacle before the switch and have the switch control a 'regular' receptacle. Many GFI receptacles I've installed trip instantly when the power is first established. If you put the switch before the GFI, there's a chance it will trip when the switch is turned on. Check it first...might save you some headaches.
Good point, I might be lucky and find that it is already on a GFCI breaker as that same feed is switching several exterior line voltage fixtures. If I find that I am already on a GCFI breaker, do I need the GFCI outlet as well or is it already protected?

thanks
kooshball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:58 AM   #5
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,783
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


I've never had any problems with switched GFIC receps.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 02:50 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


Just becarefull where you get the GFCI circuit from and it should not be from either kitchen or bathroom both have GFCI and the codes do not allow that to be extended out of the " room "

I have no issue with switched GFCI reccetpales I know it will be pain in arse in first time but after that it will work just fine, but I rather run this in GFCI breaker and go to the switch then standard recetaplae and marked stated " GFCI protected " so you know it is on GFCI in case someone try to figure out why the recetpale do not work.

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 11:13 AM   #7
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


Kooshball, if the line is already on a GFCI breaker then you do not need a GFCI receptacle, it's already protected. Marc, the frenchelectrician makes a good point about not using the kitchen or bath circuits.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:15 PM   #8
electrical instructor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 9
Default

NEC for installing an outlet in a crawl-space?


a GFCI rec is only required in a crawl space if it is at or below grade level. If this is not the case, a GFCI is not required per 210.8(4)

bhound84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating crawl space jenoble99 Building & Construction 10 06-18-2009 12:09 PM
Vapor barrier for shallow crawl space? Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Building & Construction 8 03-24-2009 10:03 AM
Crawl space swamp, house on crap jacks. Denny's girl Building & Construction 2 03-09-2009 12:02 PM
insulating crawl space near plate measure thrice Building & Construction 13 01-26-2009 03:11 PM
Crawl Space needs "re-insulating" bigNY Building & Construction 1 10-12-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.