NEC 2011 Question - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2011, 11:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

NEC 2011 Question


404.2(C) exception 2
(2) Cable assemblies for switches enter the box through a framing cavity that’s open at the top or bottom on the same floor level or through a wall, floor, or ceiling that’s unfinished on one side.

This means in a single floor plan house where the cable from the switch goes up a wall cavity into an unfinished attic, no neutral is required. The question is if the switch is updated later to an occupancy switch that requires neutral, can you run a single conductor neutral wire down to the switch in the wall cavity or would the cable need to be replaced with a cable which includes neutral?

Advertisement

hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 11:47 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

NEC 2011 Question


No, you can not run a single conductor.
If you feel you are going to add something in the future that needs a neutral, now is the time to run it.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 01:47 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

NEC 2011 Question


So then, why make a code change and then negate it so many circumstances?
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:23 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,959
Rewards Points: 2,314
Default

NEC 2011 Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
So then, why make a code change and then negate it so many circumstances?
That is a good question.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:51 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

NEC 2011 Question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
404.2(C) exception 2
(2) Cable assemblies for switches enter the box through a framing cavity thatís open at the top or bottom on the same floor level or through a wall, floor, or ceiling thatís unfinished on one side.

This means in a single floor plan house where the cable from the switch goes up a wall cavity into an unfinished attic, no neutral is required. The question is if the switch is updated later to an occupancy switch that requires neutral, can you run a single conductor neutral wire down to the switch in the wall cavity or would the cable need to be replaced with a cable which includes neutral?
Any way you can post 404.2 so we can see the rest of it? Kind of hard to understand the exception without seeing the rest.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:57 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

NEC 2011 Question


404.2 Switch Connections.
(C) Switches Controlling Lighting. Switches controlling line-to-neutral lighting loads must have a neutral provided at the switch location.
Ex.: The neutral conductor isn’t required at the switch location if:
(1) The conductors for switches enter the device box through a raceway that has sufficient cross-sectional area to accommodate a neutral conductor. (click here to see Fig. 16)
(2) Cable assemblies for switches enter the box through a framing cavity that’s open at the top or bottom on the same floor level or through a wall, floor, or ceiling that’s unfinished on one side.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 05:09 PM   #7
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

NEC 2011 Question


So, it looks like the NEC isn't mandating the grounded conductor as long as one can be added with relative ease in the future.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 01:22 AM   #8
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

NEC 2011 Question


I will clear that question up for ya guys if you have EMT or PVC or Greenfeild { Fexiable conduit } or rigid conduit then you can have netural or not depending on the set up something what hayewe farm posted with a sublink that for conduits only but if you have NM cables then no you have to use the netural conductor there anyway.

I know this question do come up from time to time the conduit is the easiest way to add a netural conductour anytime but not always the case.

In France we allready have that code requirement for last couple years. so I got used to it.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 10:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 01:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 09:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 05:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts