Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2007, 05:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Share |
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


I wanted to move my range to a farther location, so I added a 15 foot range cord to range. I used a heavy gauge for the cord. I plugged in and turned on and would get a flicker of power, then nothing. I rechecked wiring, checked breakers, and replugged in and no power. The range was plugged into another outlet and works, so its no the range. Can the power cord get fried? or wiring in breaker box? I am not a electrician, any help is appreciated.
thanks
jennifer
sippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:03 PM   #2
Eibwen
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia Beach, Va
Posts: 849
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


What size and type of cable did you use for the extension?

Check the outer jacket of the cable for some numbers like "SE" "NM" and any numbers like 12/2 etc.
Sammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 06:47 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,047
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


Is this a gas range or electric?
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:19 PM   #4
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


You may be plugging in to a GFI protected receptacle. Check your coutertop outlets and see if the GFI button tripped. Unplug the range, reset the GFI, and try again. If that it it, you have a ground fault somewhere (probably in the cord wiring). The GFI outlets are the ones with the red and black buttons on them. One says test and the other reset.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 07:25 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,047
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


Some GFI's do not have the black and red buttons. The buttons may be the same color as the receptacle.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2007, 10:47 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


That is true. Still, the buttons should be marked. Let us know what happens.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 10:48 AM   #7
One-man DIY Army
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Seattle
Posts: 34
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


This all happened when the extension cord was added, right? The first thing I'd do is check out that extension cord.
mdalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 02:10 PM   #8
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


We don't help girls on this site. Wait, the last time I said that it turned into a five page novel and the damn tub STILL AIN'T FIXED.

Sounds like 240V to me from the description. Recheck everything again. I bet it is something simple. Post back.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 05:33 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


STILL NEED HELP WITH WIRING. Wire used in extension was cci seoprene 105 6aw6 4/c seoow 600v. I attached that to a 4 pronge range male plug. Unit is not plugged into any gfci. This is 240v wiring WITH 4 WIRES RED,BLACK, WHITE, GREEN GROUND. I re-checked all connections and and wires are correct. I switch breaker on and off and replug range stove and still no power. Could the wire be the problem or the breaker box.
sippin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 05:41 PM   #10
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


I dont know if you have the 2 wire neon light tester ??

If so you can verify the power at the range repectale the two outer slots will have power [ 240 volts] then the upper slot and bottom slot should read 0 volts but the round slot is for grounding [ green ]

the white wire for one slot [ top one ] read this from the top to either hot slot it should light up or read 120 v each way.

once you verify the power is on in correct way then you can test the cord to verify the power working there.

oh by the way with big 6-3 cord you desrbing that is very rare i heard to used as extension cord normally with this set up most peoples will just hardwired and be done with it.

but breaker ?? some case it can go bad too but once you checked out the repectale and have both 120 and 240 volt there then you can dig little more deeper with this.

merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 05:51 PM   #11
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


Sippin, How do you know there is no power??? Just because the range doesn't work.... Do as my Frech buddy says.

French, can you PM me an(English) translation of the post from last week?? Andy
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:27 PM   #12
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


Sippin:

it kinda dawned on me for a min was this repectale was used to be wired for 3 wire or 4 wire you may have to check that by the breaker box it will tell the story there.

also check the range termail block too sometime it can get jarred loose as well. [ make sure the power is off or unplugged on this one ]




Andy; want my translated verison of last week ??

i broke in few parts because one of my translaters limited the number of words i can jammed in but which part you want me to send ya ??

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:35 PM   #13
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


"Je ne dirai pas quelque parti dans ici"

My twentieth high school reunion is in a couple of years... Every bit of the two years French I took has exited my head and was replaced by a bastardized version of Spanish...Part of the deal working in ATL in construction.

P.S. Some may wonder why Andy took French in highschool??? A girl, of course!
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2007, 06:39 PM   #14
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
"Je ne dirai pas quelque parti dans ici"

My twentieth high school reunion is in a couple of years... Every bit of the two years French I took has exited my head and was replaced by a bastardized version of Spanish...Part of the deal working in ATL in construction.

P.S. Some may wonder why Andy took French in highschool??? A girl, of course!

I am glad i will translated for you

it say " i am not going to say anything in here "

merci, Marc

P.S. i can drive some peoples bonker with french terms on electrical equiment if i want to but just wait and see about that one
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2007, 10:42 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Mystery Electrical Problem


Check the voltage at the range. You should read 240 volts ac on the red and black wires. 120 volts from the red and black to the white. Check the voltage at the receptacle if you do not get the correct readings at the range mentioned above. Don't check to ground as it is not keeping the range from working.

Come On guys.....GFCI on a 50 amp recept. You gotta be kidding.....
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
electrical outlet problem ? BEN17 Electrical 1 07-29-2007 06:23 PM
Perplexing electrical problem prglor Electrical 4 05-30-2007 02:20 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 01:51 PM
Electrical Outlet Problem McRier Electrical 3 12-19-2005 12:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.