Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2012, 11:03 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Share |
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Last week my plasma tv in my living room went dead, it was working fine the night before, and next day it just wouldn't power on. I tried plugging it in a different place but it still didn't power on. Everything else connected like the dvd and cable box did work though.

There isn't any bad weather here were i live, no rain or lightnings, no power outtage.

Today my second tv in my bedroom suddenly went into the static image (like in the movie The Ring which it scared me) and then it turned off by it self. I tried powering it back on but it didn't work anymore!. What the heck? I tried to plug it in another outlet and that didn't work either. And same thing the rest of the stuff connected seem to work.

So any ideas of what could be causing my TVs to die? Now I'm afraid that my third and last tv will die too!. Everything else in the house like microwave, fridge, stereos, clocks, etc.. seem to be working fine though.

It's weird that both TVs went dead.. what should i do? Is this a sign that the end of the world is near?

Thanks in advance

LynniieRockz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:42 PM   #2
just a tool guy
 
mickey cassiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 255
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Have you paid the cable bill?

__________________
Mickey

One of these hammers will fix it.
mickey cassiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey cassiba
Have you paid the cable bill?
Yes, it's the TVs that wont power on. Only that. The rest of the stuff connected does work.
LynniieRockz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:44 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey cassiba View Post
Have you paid the cable bill?
Not paying the cable bill don't cause a tv to stop powering on. LOL
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
LynniieRockz (02-26-2012)
Old 02-26-2012, 11:47 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


I would have the outlet checked out and if plugged into something after the outlet I would also check that out. A lose connection causing a voltage drop could cause the tv to overheat and stop working.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2012, 11:59 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 23
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Quote:
Originally Posted by rrolleston
I would have the outlet checked out and if plugged into something after the outlet I would also check that out. A lose connection causing a voltage drop could cause the tv to overheat and stop working.
But my two TV's in different rooms stopped working in the same week, and if i plug something were the TVs were plugged it does work. Someone told me it could be a leakage current?
LynniieRockz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 12:05 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Could be they are on the same circuit or one leg of your power or both have a voltage drop. A lose hot or neutral wire. Anything electronic will not like this. I would start with having your electrical system checked.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 04:54 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Signal Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Alliance, OH
Posts: 28
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Check your voltage at the outlets to maKe sure it is not running high.

Also check for a bad neutral connection in your electric service panel.

If neither pan out, then perhaps its just a bad coincidence. maybe you have a surge. are both sets hooked to surge protectors? if not, they should be.

the ones I use to recommend had connections for the cable wire to plug in through the surge protector.
Signal Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Signal Guy For This Useful Post:
LynniieRockz (02-28-2012)
Old 02-27-2012, 06:22 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Is the TV completely dead, or does it just not do some things like pick up any stations?

Would it work if you connected up a DVD player a different way, for example if you used the blue and green jacks try putting the green cable into the yellow jacks at both the TV and the DVD player. (For just a few minutes while testing.).
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:01 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 81
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


What brand of TV is it? Samsung had trouble with capacitors on the power supply. I had this happen to my TV and had to replace six capacitors.
M Engineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:08 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Signal Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Alliance, OH
Posts: 28
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Not just Samsung. They all run the caps right up to their thermal limits.
Signal Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 07:44 AM   #12
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Could be a power issue taking out the TVs. If you have a loose neutral on your main service then then the voltage could spiking high and taking out your TVs. Are you noticing lights going brighter within your house?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
LynniieRockz (02-28-2012)
Old 02-27-2012, 08:50 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,580
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Both of my Visios dead within 2 years.
Both had cap problums and the repair places wanted $400.00 to repair, the company knows there's a problum judgiing by the number of complaints I see posted on line.
Replaced them with Sonys and never had another problum.
I did also hook up the cable, power and phone line to a surge protector I bought at Wal Mart just to try and play it safe.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:59 AM   #14
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 979
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Could be a lose neutral causing your voltage to be all over the place
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jimmy21 For This Useful Post:
LynniieRockz (02-28-2012)
Old 02-27-2012, 09:41 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: NE NC
Posts: 256
Default

My TVs stopped working. Is this a problem with my electricity?


Are they both Plasmas? Does either make a series of clicks when it tries to power on? I have a 42" plasma that would not power on and replacing the A-board and power supply board did the trick. Many of these boards are compatible with multiple brands. (Kinda like GM parts,YAY for Government Motors!) Anyways, if you bought a bargain TV, chances are you got what you paid for just as I did. It cost me about about $200 to fix myself so depending on how old they are you may be better off just buying new. Or better yet just go on craigslist and get a free CRT that will last forever. Regardless, the fact that two of your TV's went on the fritz at the same time sounds like the MAIN issue is not within the TV. I suggest doing what the electricians recommend before addressing the tubes.

MisterSteve is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MisterSteve For This Useful Post:
LynniieRockz (02-28-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would cause the electricity in only one room to suddenly stop working? Iron Petunia Electrical 7 12-22-2011 04:54 PM
Coaxial Jack STOPPED working? JayNYOne Electrical 4 12-11-2011 10:20 AM
Powermate stopped making electricity (field issue?) desmo907 Electrical 6 11-17-2011 01:20 AM
Shower Lighting and fan stopped working (separate fixtures on same circuit) IndyNotHandy Electrical 15 03-15-2011 09:39 AM
Rheem furnace stopped working kgsolomon1 HVAC 1 02-09-2008 06:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.