Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2013, 10:43 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade?


Well, while I'm at it...

I ran a 6 gauge copper feed to my garage, another to my utility room, and one to the side of the house. I put 50A breakers on them. One comes from my original 100A panel, the other two from my new panel, which will be underutilized otherwise.

danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2013, 10:59 PM   #17
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade?


How was the second panel fed?
__________________
If at first you don't succeed .... do not work on live electrical
Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:55 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gac66610 View Post
How was the second panel fed?
Utility (200A) ----> Meter --> Main Panel (outside house)
- Main panel was 100A, upgraded to 200A. Fortunately the feed wires already supported 200A so utility didn't have to pull new.

Main Panel 100A Breaker #1 --> existing Basement panel
Main Panel 100A Breaker #2 --> NEW basement panel

Electrician pulled some big fat aluminum wire - I don't remember the size - from the main panel outside house to this new load center.
danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 11:27 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,339
Rewards Points: 676
Default

My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by danielrg View Post

I installed another 100 AMP panel. Best thing I ever did. I don't see how I could have fit everything in the one panel.



Because of the space, I was also able to run a subpanel to my utility room, garage, and a feed to my future shed location.

So in my opinion, the upgrade was well worth it.
You are streching you main breaker capacity by adding more panels. Bad move.
bobelectric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:48 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
You are stretching you main breaker capacity by adding more panels. Bad move.
Which panels are you referring to? The (2) 100A basement panels?

Or the 50A sub-panels (garage/utility/shed) off the 100A panels?

How am I "stretching" my main breaker capacity? My main is 200A, upgraded from 100A. Then I have two 100A breakers, one to each panel.

Maybe I just don't understand. What does it mean to "stretch" a breaker's capacity? I do see from my post that I didn't really say explicitly that I also upgraded my service from 100A to 200A and then added the 2nd 100A panel.

Last edited by danielrg; 07-01-2013 at 11:16 PM.
danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:12 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

My plan for bsmnt has panel packed - should I upgrade?


In case anyone is confused on what I did - I copied this out of my basement planning drawings:



I don't really plan to put much on my subpanels. Right now they are in but empty - I put in copper 6/3 so I could do 50A to any of them, but I may put them on 30A breakers. Mostly they are there for convenience since the basement walls are going to get closed up and I want to be able to add circuits to these areas later.

danielrg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main Panel Upgrade Invisible-Man Electrical 21 08-23-2011 04:24 AM
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 11:39 PM
garage panel upgrade Tradesman14 Electrical 3 09-29-2009 12:20 PM
Upgrade Service Panel - Do I need a new meter? El Kati Electrical 6 08-11-2008 08:35 PM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 11:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.