Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-28-2013, 06:29 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Share |
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


i just bought a threadmill and put it in one of my rooms. nothing in the room except one computer and the threadmill. why is the circuit breaker for that room overloaded and keeps tripping with just a threadmil and one computer. anything i can do about this?

dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:32 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,199
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


Read the directions, does it say something about having to have a 20 amp outlet or a dedicated circut?
Is this an old house?

joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:36 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,798
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


TREADmills are notoriously heavy draw loads. It is very typical for them to trip existing 15A circuit breakers.

Most likely you will need a new 20A circuit run to the location.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:44 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


will single-outlter surge protector help with the trip?

also how do i check which outlet in my house has 20 amps?
dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:47 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,003
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbengineer View Post
will single-outlter surge protector help with the trip?

also how do i check which outlet in my house has 20 amps?
Surge protector? NOPE.

You know that breaker that you have to reset when it trips? It has the amperage listed on the handle. It will say either 15 or 20.

Look at the instructions and see what it says it needs.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,199
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


A surge protector is only to protect from incoming power spikes. Not going to fix the problum.
Going to have to check the breakers to see if there's a 20 amp and if it kills a breaker.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 71
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


the instruction says it's requiring a surge protector rated for 15 amps so i guess it only require 15 amps.. gonna check my circuit breaker which room/outlet has 20 amps.. tnx
dumbengineer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,436
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


Quote:
Originally Posted by dumbengineer View Post
i just bought a threadmill and put it in one of my rooms. nothing in the room except one computer and the threadmill. why is the circuit breaker for that room overloaded and keeps tripping with just a threadmil and one computer. anything i can do about this?
The circuit breaker is not big enough !
What else is on that circuit ?
Could be other things in other rooms !
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 07:51 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 199
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


I'm with Joe on this-- when I was installing my treadmill the instructions were quite clear --dedicated circuit.

It's on a dedicated 15A circuit in basement and no issues.

Good luck.
orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 11:26 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 23
Default

my new threadmill cause one the circuit breaker to trip a lot


Hhhmmm. If it was me having that problem it would be because the motor was trying to get my fat @#+ moving. A 50 amp breaker and three corn dogs and maybe a large diet soda is the only thing that might work. But thats me.

grizzzlle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turning on Lights trip another breaker RevJones Electrical 5 06-04-2012 11:36 PM
New wiring tripping breaker on another circuit? Kinggofg Electrical 11 04-26-2012 01:36 AM
circuit breaker doesn't trip harryevan Electrical 31 02-11-2011 08:27 PM
How Does A Double Pole Circuit Breaker Trip? shadowx360 Electrical 2 07-09-2008 02:44 PM
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.