My New 200AMP Homeline Square D - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2010, 05:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


I just purchased my new 200amp service panel and noticed right away there aren't separate grounding bars. It looks like the ground wire is supposed to attach right next to the neutral lug. Is this right or do I have to buy separate grounding buses and install them?

Advertisement

rlineberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:07 PM   #2
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,356
Rewards Points: 3,506
Blog Entries: 4
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


For a service with the main disconnect the ground a neutral are connected together.

Advertisement

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:09 PM   #3
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


Is it a main breaker panel? If it is the ground and neutral are tied together in the panel by either the neutral bar being mounted right to the can or via a bonding screw. Square-D panels usually come with a grounding bar in a bag inside the panel but not if it is a factory installed main breaker panel.

Last edited by sparks1up; 05-10-2010 at 05:12 PM.
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:11 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
For a service with the main disconnect the ground a neutral are connected together.
I know they are supposed to be if it is not a sub-panel, but why the bonding screw if the neutral and ground are already connected?

Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks1up View Post
Is it a main breaker panel?
It is the main breaker panel. Very simple back to back to the meter base... no sub-panels or external disconnects. Just a big 'ol 200amp main breaker at the top.
rlineberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:13 PM   #5
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


I edited my original response! Look up!
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:18 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


I found a picture online that is simular to my set-up.

http://media.wiley.com/assets/1156/0...830-X_0202.jpg

It looks like they tied the ground directly next to the neutral. Is this acceptable?
rlineberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:27 PM   #7
Sparkaholic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 192
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to sparks1up
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


The panel in the picture has the bonding screw installed and as you can see all the grounds and neutrals sharing the same neutral/ground bars! If it is bonded you can do that but if you would prefer to run to a separate bar you can buy it wherever you bought the panel! But it is not necessary.

I have been known to steal the old neutral bar from the panel I took out and drill and tap and screw it to the back of the panel and use that as a ground bar.
sparks1up is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:29 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparks1up View Post
I have been known to steal the old neutral bar from the panel I took out and drill and tap and screw it to the back of the panel and use that as a ground bar.
sneaky, sneaky
rlineberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 05:36 PM   #9
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,976
Rewards Points: 2,208
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


[quote=rlineberg;440028]I know they are supposed to be if it is not a sub-panel, but why the bonding screw if the neutral and ground are already connect

The bonding screw bonds the tub(panel box) to the neutral.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 12:20 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 3,015
Rewards Points: 2,210
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


I installed that exact panel in the log home I'm building. It did not come with a ground bar. The instructions specified which part number to buy. There's actually room for two ground bars, one on each side. Certainly made wiring easier.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 06:38 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


In a Sq D homeline panel we have a neutral bar and a ground bar.

Is the neutral bar on the right or left?

We tried a few of the open holes in the bar on the left but the green screw would not start.

Would that mean that we should try an open hole on the bar on the right?
etbrown4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 07:12 PM   #12
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


typical Square D panels have both bus bars tied together. if this the main panel you should install the bonding screw to connect the tub to the bus, unless there is a disconnect between meter and main.
if this is a sub panel you must install separate grounding bars to isolate neutral from ground, and do NOT use the bonding screw

to answer you actual question, use an Ohm meter to test the bus bars for continuity. this will prove whether they are connected to each other or not
if it has a separate ground bar, you should be able to see easily enough that it stands alone in the box(no obvious connection to any other part)
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2011, 08:12 PM   #13
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


Quote:
Originally Posted by etbrown4 View Post
In a Sq D homeline panel we have a neutral bar and a ground bar.

Is the neutral bar on the right or left?

We tried a few of the open holes in the bar on the left but the green screw would not start.

Would that mean that we should try an open hole on the bar on the right?
The bonding screw does not go into one of the holes in the bar. It goes through a hole at the top and into the back box of the panel.

I am really beginning to think they should not sell panels at home centers any more.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 01:53 AM   #14
liscenced electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Oregon coast
Posts: 997
Rewards Points: 514
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


Is this your first point of disconnect? As in, does your meter base have a disconnect?
jimmy21 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:43 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

My new 200AMP Homeline Square D


This is service equipment. So there is no disconnect. We know we hve to install the bonding screw and why.

Just looking for the magic location!

Thanks for any tips.


.....
A special note to Petey.

Petey, I'm sure you have helped many folks with your expert electrical advice, and they all owe you a debt of gratitude! It is very kind of you.

As we all know, panel installations must be inspected by an electrical inspector, so we know they will be safe and compliant when completed.

We can't help or save those who do non-compliant work. Just like we could not save all those bootleggers who broke the law during prohibition.

It seems to me that the name if this forum is "diychatroom". That is, it is intended for do-it-yourselfers, and not for pros.

It is awesome that you give such great advice, however you might save us of any implicit criticism about what home centers might or might not sell. It seems that you would be enthusiastic about helping DIY folks get their installations just right.

On the other hand if you don't feel comfortable with DIY folks doing electrical work, then perhaps that category should be removed from this and all DIY forums, and all those questions and advice should be reserved for pros. But that defeats the very purpose of a DIY forum doesn't it?

Either way, I really appreciate your advice on where to find the pesky bonding screw location, as I was looking in the wrong place, and still don't see the right one!

Advertisement

etbrown4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Square D breakers in a Homeline box itsallhistory Electrical 3 03-22-2010 02:55 PM
Square D Homeline VS QO schultz56 Electrical 2 02-15-2010 04:02 PM
Need high magnetic circuit breaker for a homeline 200amp window heaters Electrical 5 11-24-2009 03:10 PM
square D homeline mbaker76 Electrical 2 10-24-2008 03:35 PM
Poor Attic Ventilation Mechanically Challenged Roofing/Siding 15 10-23-2008 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts