Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-20-2013, 09:51 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 843
Share |
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


S
Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Absolutely not. What does them being 240V have to do with it?
Say 240 30 amp load of compressor motor? I thought not, but asked.

Hardway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:04 AM   #17
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


The wiring in the panel appears to match the diagram. The 20A circuit is 240V-only and the 30A circuit is 120/240. How did you have it before? Did you follow the diagram? What makes you think there's something wrong?
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 12:03 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Unless all the wiring is inside the ground should not be bare.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
Oso954 (02-20-2013)
Old 02-20-2013, 12:50 PM   #19
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardway View Post
S

Say 240 30 amp load of compressor motor? I thought not, but asked.
Not all 240V loads are heavy draw.
Just being 240V means nothing, other than the load is typically pretty well balanced.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:33 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 139
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Unless all the wiring is inside the ground should not be bare.
I don't understand this. What do you mean?

I can learn as easily as teach.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 03:40 PM   #21
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Wiring to a hot tub on the exterior of the house needs an insulated grounding conductor. The interior portion can be bare.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:23 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


I guess I don't understand how a 2 pole GFCI works. I am looking for reassurance that the GFCI will function properly wired without a neutral wire. Is that true??

I still don't like how he just wrapped the hot tub ground around ground wire instead of taking it back to the buss bar. I cut it too short to reach the buss bar. Would it be OK to wire nut another short pig tail to it and reattach it directly to the buss bar?

BTW, The tub is located in the garage. (for now)
RED7218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 04:28 PM   #23
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Quote:
Originally Posted by RED7218 View Post
I guess I don't understand how a 2 pole GFCI works. I am looking for reassurance that the GFCI will function properly wired without a neutral wire. Is that true??

I still don't like how he just wrapped the hot tub ground around ground wire instead of taking it back to the buss bar. I cut it too short to reach the buss bar. Would it be OK to wire nut another short pig tail to it and reattach it directly to the buss bar?

BTW, The tub is located in the garage. (for now)
I think that would be a good idea.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rrolleston For This Useful Post:
RED7218 (02-20-2013)
Old 02-20-2013, 04:34 PM   #24
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


YES, a GFI WILL work without a load neutral connected.
The LINE neutral (white tail) from the breaker must still be connected to the neutral bar.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
RED7218 (02-20-2013), Techy (02-20-2013)
Old 02-20-2013, 04:34 PM   #25
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 701
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


2 pole gfi needs the 'line neutral' pigtail connected to the neutral bar, but does not require a 'load neutral' attached to the screw on the breaker
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (02-21-2013), RED7218 (02-20-2013), Speedy Petey (02-20-2013)
Old 02-20-2013, 04:44 PM   #26
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,577
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Yes you can extend the ground wire with a wire nut to reach the bus.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
RED7218 (02-20-2013)
Old 02-20-2013, 04:44 PM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


OK now I'm ready to come down out of my tree and let the wife and kids enjoy this thing.. I really appreciate the help. Again thanks a TON.
RED7218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:20 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,491
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


If he didn't want to kill you before !
He might want to now,
after he see's the post !
Some folks might not like someone saying,
" there trying to kill someone"
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 11:08 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 8
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
If he didn't want to kill you before !
He might want to now,
after he see's the post !
Some folks might not like someone saying,
" there trying to kill someone"

I would have to think his sensibilites couldn't be that delicate if he's leaving hot tub ground wires unhooked. He can call me and complain if he recognizes his work..
RED7218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 06:15 AM   #30
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Default

Is my electrician trying to KILL ME?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
If he didn't want to kill you before !
He might want to now,
after he see's the post !
Some folks might not like someone saying,
" there trying to kill someone"
Some folks are just too over-dramatic for their own good.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
NJMarine (02-21-2013), Stubbie (02-21-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 09:14 PM
Licensed Electrician or Not? taras1 Electrical 10 04-29-2011 06:23 PM
Do I Need to Call in a Electrician to Check This Work? taras1 Electrical 6 12-13-2010 05:07 PM
Effects of electrician tape on cable richard7994 Electrical 4 08-11-2010 08:39 AM
handling unsafe work by an electrician wuxingming57 Electrical 1 11-14-2009 07:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.