Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2008, 11:34 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 252
Share |
Default

My Electrician Friend--Part II


Since I've received so much great advice here about my sub-panel, I figured while I at it I'm going to go over all my electric service. I should point out that my house is being renovated and at the moment operating with a temp. power setup. I plan on having a new meter box and 200 amp service installed at the house. Here's the big question: my friend installed a 3 phase panel in the basement of the house (this is feeding sub with 100 amp breaker). Is this legal or should get rid of it and buy a single phase 200 amp panel? And if the answer is yes then should we also run the ground (see other thread) to the sub in the shop?

rustyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 11:49 AM   #2
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 358
Default

My Electrician Friend--Part II


Quote:
Originally Posted by rustyjames View Post
Here's the big question: my friend installed a 3 phase panel in the basement of the house (this is feeding sub with 100 amp breaker).
Are you sure that it is three phase panel? If it says something like 208Y120 v 4 w on it, then it is, and if you have a single phase service it has no business being in your house. The other thing is that most single phase panelboards also say on the label that they can also be used on a 240 volt three phase corner grounded delta system, so is that what you are referring to?

If it is a 3 ph panel, I'd get rid of that and have a new 200 amp single phase panel installed. A 3 phase panel should not be used on a single phase setup because the third phase is jumpered to one of the other phases for power, and the loads are not balanced evenly among the phases and one leg will carry more current then the other leg. It screams hack job!

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 12:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NJ
Posts: 252
Default

My Electrician Friend--Part II


It's definately a 3 phase panel. It came off a commercial job that I was working on. I think my friend's intent was to save me money because I had the panel "in stock."
rustyjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2008, 05:28 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

My Electrician Friend--Part II


You might as well change the panel.
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
complicating-updating new box for client, electrician messed it up-pics included Kraze Electrical 29 11-18-2012 09:14 PM
Inducer motor; ID on Part: Carrier Part # HC21ZE123A - Cross reference help mtom01 HVAC 10 02-20-2011 06:43 PM
Inducer Part Needed: Please Help! BDPNA HVAC 55 12-08-2010 08:48 AM
My Electrician friend... rustyjames Electrical 26 07-21-2008 10:07 AM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.