Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-10-2010, 07:21 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


Hi Again:

Just an FYI, these are two graphs that show the min/max volts and power factor, then the watts over the period.

.....Bill
Attached Thumbnails
Is my electric meter correct???-aug06-07-min-max-volt-pwr-fctr.jpg   Is my electric meter correct???-aug06-07-watts.jpg  
fcfcfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 07:33 PM   #17
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


how are you determining power factor?
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 08:15 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


Have you called the POCO to report what you think is an error ?
They will usually test them...or replace
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 08:34 PM   #19
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


I see where you are getting PF. The critter you are using to measure with provides that.

are you charged for reactive power? I don't know of any residential areas that do so but that doesn't mean much.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 08:51 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 58
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


I had a similar problem. The tenants in the house were complaining of paying too much money to DWP. I called the DWP because the meters were there for many years. The DWP changed the meters with new types.
These are the modern ones where the man does not have to be very close in order to read the meters. Anyway, To make a long story short,
every body was happy without doing any fancy watt test.

If you had the meter for eight years, why not change it ?

There was a metaphor about DAVEY and GOLIATH --a good metaphor.
I think the bottom line is You are hoping to get refund money from
DWP.
Gabriel24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 09:23 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


Hi Nap:

That is a good question.... I don't know the answer to that...
When I did the controlled test, which was after I did testing of various devices/appliances around the house, I thought the two would pretty much "line up", within 1 or 2% at least... Frankly, I was surprised when they did not. I had always expected the testing to revel malfunctioning loads or just something "weird" in the infrastructure... Really was not looking for a faulty meter, but it was logical to at least run the test.

Gabriel24, you need to read the previous posts on this thread....

.....Bill
fcfcfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:12 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 162
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


I did some googling on the subject. I found a few things that said there are 2 classes of meters, .2 and .5 accuracy. (they didn't list units, so I assume kWh) I also found some info that says the meters are tested at 30A.

I also found many cases of people saying that they got an old meter replaced with a new one, and that their "consumption" dropped considerably. It was enough of a trend for me to conclude that the meters do "drift" during their lifetime.
moondawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 07:50 AM   #23
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


I'd really like to see this setup that you have.

Also, what is this backup power that you are using? You are comparing the PoCo meter usage with grid power to the "Watts Up" on a backup power source, is that correct?
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 11:01 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


typoHi Proby:

No, no... your getting confused here... The backup power has nothing to do with the test. I simply engage it to keep my house going during the test. After all, I do "live" here...LOL...
Moondawg... finally had two tech conversations over the past 24 here. One with the Watts Up eng and one with an Eng for the DCSi company that makes the comm module for the meter on my house. Both conversations were interesting.
To keep it short, there is a "feeling" that the difference could be "stacked" margin of errors, be it in mostly one direction, possible meter inaccuracy, etc.. Nothing that really is strong enough to point to a single overwhelming cause. My utility co is PPL. They do have a reputation of being CS responsive, so it was the one eng opinion to see if I can get them to test the meter. They are required by ANSI spec to randomly check meters in their customer base yearly to be able to show their reading accuracy is within certain ranges, etc.. So, given the info you found and the desire to eliminate one possible variable, it seems reasonable to approach them at this point....

.....Bill
fcfcfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 11:03 AM   #25
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


Quote:
Originally Posted by fcfcfc View Post
typoHi Proby:

No, no... your getting confused here... The backup power has nothing to do with the test. I simply engage it to keep my house going during the test. After all, I do "live" here...LOL...
So I am still completely confused. How are you metering the power with the Watt Up thingie?

Why do you need backup power when you are using the Watt Up thingie?

What is your backup power source?
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 12:05 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


Hi Proby:

Did you read my post #8??

.....Bill
fcfcfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 12:14 PM   #27
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


I'm not going to ask a 3rd time. Nevermind...
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 12:59 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


Hi Proby:

I don't know where you are not clear. The backup power is used to run my house during the test because my main breaker is off. Selected loads are attached to the watts Up which is plugged into a Tripplite IBAR2-6 which goes directly to the main Aluminum 200 A service feed wire. That service wire is maybe 5' long and runs into the meter base.
I activate backup power to my main box through a 50A breaker which leads out to a sub panel where the 3000W inverter feeds the power... etc.. etc..
I don't know what else to say....

Sorry...

.....Bill
fcfcfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2010, 06:45 PM   #29
Seasoned DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 187
Default

Is my electric meter correct???


If you're talking about Watts Up? meter from EED, I can tell you I've had issues with them, several years ago. It is wildly inaccurate with non-resistive load and phase angle error is unacceptable to the point it is unable to properly measure inductive loads. I'm not sure if they've fixed the problem since, but if they haven't that thing can not be trusted
HVAC_NW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
90 amp electric car charger! The future... Billy_Bob Electrical 16 02-16-2010 02:01 PM
Electric meter garyoutwest Electrical 1 10-02-2009 04:10 AM
Ballpark cost to to move electric meter 99miles Electrical 2 09-29-2009 08:37 PM
Is my panel sufficient to add Electric water heater andy Electrical 16 04-21-2009 08:34 AM
Does it matter how close your panel is to your meter? jamiedolan Electrical 10 10-18-2008 04:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.