Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-02-2010, 01:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 250

MWBC Question - Overloading Neutral Wire?

I have a MWBC setup in the master bedroom suite. The two individual circuits both seem to have max possible loads at/above 15A (assuming all lights on, all electronics on, and vacuum running). Does this mean that the common neutral wire has a possible max load of 30A or more? If so, is this a problem, given it's 14/3 NM wiring? Or does the reverse-phasing minimize the neutral load?

Itsdanf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:44 PM   #2

..er, never mind! If I'd though it over a couple more seconds, I'd have realized that my final comment was the right answer. The two hots are 180* out of phase. The neutral just caries the imbalance. If only one circuit is active, and maxed at 15A, the neutral would carry 15A. If both circuits were maxed at 15A, the neutral would only carry the difference between the two -- a minimal amount.

Thus, the max load on the neutral would be the max load on ONE of the individual circuits.

Sorry, just needed more time to think it through.

Old 04-02-2010, 01:50 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,000

Yup, as long as you are certain the hots are 180 out from each other you are OK
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 03:47 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 1,000

Quote:
Originally Posted by Itsdanf View Post
..er, never mind! If I'd though it over a couple more seconds, I'd have realized that my final comment was the right answer. The two hots are 180* out of phase. The neutral just caries the imbalance. If only one circuit is active, and maxed at 15A, the neutral would carry 15A. If both circuits were maxed at 15A, the neutral would only carry the difference between the two -- a minimal amount.

Thus, the max load on the neutral would be the max load on ONE of the individual circuits.