Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2013, 09:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 435
Share |
Default

Must cables be tight?


I have noticed that most people run cable and make it straight and tight so it just fits to the box. I always like to leave a little slack in the line in case I later need to move a box or cut off some wire and reconnect. When the cable is so tight there is no slack for modifications. Is there some code stating cables must be this way?

crescere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 09:49 PM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,656
Default

Must cables be tight?


Quote:
Originally Posted by crescere View Post

I have noticed that most people run cable and make it straight and tight so it just fits to the box.
...When the cable is so tight there is no slack for modifications.

Plan the work... then work the plan.
The guy who comes through 30 years later to do some changes or modification will figure it out.


TarheelTerp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 10:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Gymschu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Eastern Ohio (heart of Appalachia)
Posts: 2,740
Default

Must cables be tight?


I'm the same way, I like some slack for any future additions or modifications.
Gymschu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 11:33 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 53
Default

Must cables be tight?


type NM must be secured within 8" of a non metallic box...leads inside the box should be at lease 6" long....this is the code...
Bobka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2013, 08:13 AM   #5
Bill Kearney
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,874
Default

Must cables be tight?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
Plan the work... then work the plan.
THIS. By the time you're running wire the placement of the boxes should already be permanent.

Leaving slack inside the walls invites future problems like someone else coming along expecting to be able to fish a line through it and getting caught on the extra. Or worse, nicking it and raising the risk of fire.

The only time we didn't have boxes permanently placed was for bathroom vanities and some wall sconces. For those we left a length of wire lightly tacked up with staples. Then it was a simple matter of cutting the hole for the box later, reaching for the wire and pulling it loose. The key was only lighting attaching the staples, not fully hammered down. But this was only during the construction process and did not remain that way past final inspections.

I suppose the same hack could be done for an extra length of wire for boxes you "know you're going to move". But if you know they need to move then it'd be better to have a plan for that instead of putting in non-standard wiring. Like knowing how wire would be fished later from another junction box.
wkearney99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Prehung entry door no tight seal in one corner Westbrook Windows and Doors 5 11-01-2013 09:51 PM
finger tight or wrench tight? (see pix) dvarga Plumbing 10 09-14-2013 01:07 PM
Soldering copper pipe in tight location- Help Needed Pics included amodoko Plumbing 20 08-11-2012 04:14 PM
routing cables through walls and attics cannouu Electrical 18 04-10-2008 06:53 PM
Help! Need way to locate low voltage light cables Johnboy555 Electrical 15 01-03-2008 07:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.