Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2009, 07:14 PM   #16
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Share |
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


My freind still hasnt called mr back and i have been looking but no luck i have used these in large juntion boxes they go up to 250 mcm Let me get back with you tomorrow supply will be open so i can get the name and also talk to a couple of other freinds.


Last edited by 300zx; 10-14-2009 at 07:20 PM.
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 07:47 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff




The larger size will have hex head screws. Install on a straight portion of the wire, insulate it properly and it will be legal. You don't want any mistakes here because the conductors are not fused.

You can also search for the side tapped Seimans breaker. I am pretty sure it's made.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 07:53 PM   #18
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post


The larger size will have hex head screws. Install on a straight portion of the wire, insulate it properly and it will be legal. You don't want any mistakes here because the conductors are not fused.

You can also search for the side tapped Seimans breaker. I am pretty sure it's made.
yes kind of like that but these were insulated you could by for like 4 wires tapping in or just the two he needs .City elec has them but cany find on there site Thanks for the pic 22/221
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 07:59 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Polaris

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:01 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


The other common item I used is Polais connector but just becarefull where you land it and it will come in couple verison depending on how much room you have in your exsting box now

Here what it look like



Typically there are about €40 or so dpending on which electrical supply will have it and most big box store will not stock this kind of item

Merci,Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:11 PM   #21
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


used them also but forgot about them they will work for op Need Electrical Supply shop to get them thanks guys The ones we use are a little differnt they are clear and have orange caps for ones mot used also have nolox in them. OP if you have alum wire make sure you use nolox
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:14 PM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
used them also but forgot about them they will work for op Need Electrical Supply shop to get them thanks guys The ones we use are a little differnt they are clear and have orange caps for ones mot used also have nolox in them. OP if you have alum wire make sure you use nolox

If I did recall that is ISSCO company verison I have see few like that the POCO love them with underground service set up.

Merci,Marc

P.S. If you want the ISSCO link I will post it or PM to you with that.
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:21 PM   #23
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican View Post
If I did recall that is ISSCO company verison I have see few like that the POCO love them with underground service set up.

Merci,Marc

P.S. If you want the ISSCO link I will post it or PM to you with that.
I think the ones that you and 220/221 posted will work better then what i was talking about and they prob cost alot less also OP DON'T FORGET THE NOLOX IF ALUM but thank you Merci,Marc and 220/221
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:27 PM   #24
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
I think the ones that you and 220/221 posted will work better then what i was talking about and they prob cost alot less also OP DON'T FORGET THE NOLOX IF ALUM but thank you Merci,Marc and 220/221

Je parlerai pour 220/221 et moi-même nous tous les deux diront l'accueil.

I will speak for 220/221 and myself we both will say welcome.

Merci ( thanks ),

Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 08:55 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


I think I figured out how to upload photos of what I have been talking about.....here goes. Al
Attached Thumbnails
murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff-100_1482.jpg   murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff-100_1481.jpg  
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 09:07 PM   #26
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Never seen a setup like that are u in the US
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 09:17 PM   #27
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by 300zx View Post
Never seen a setup like that are u in the US

I have allready see that set up that is a true 400 amp CT { Current transformer } service set up like that.

The major quirk is that you need to get a hold of POCO to cut the drop or lateral to work on the main breaker due the meter socket is not a feed thru at all

And that large cabent you see on the photo that where they keep the CT in there and no there is no fuse inside at all.

And the last thing NEVER remove the CT meter socket unless you shunted or cut off the power source otherwise you will destory the CT no quesiton asked.

Merci,

Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 12:04 AM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Hi sorry that the pics are sidways but you get the idea. I live just uoutside of Portland Oregon. I am aware that I will have to get the power company up to shut off the power in the white box with the meter. the box has a power company seal and a label saying do not open as it contains metering equipment
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 05:30 AM   #29
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Yes if u use the ones from frenchelectrican or 220/221 you can extend the wires to reach them breakers will cost some money but if the po has to kill the power you might think about changing both mains or it could last another 30 years who knows and Good Luck if you have any questions dont be afraid to ask us here
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2009, 01:17 PM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Again I wish to thank everyone who has helped me. I was at home dpot yesterday and they have the connectors show by 220/221 so that is no problem, I notices on the packaging that they were rated for both aluminum and copper. I looked at wire when I was there both aluminum and copper 3 guage they are both very stiff I can probably bend them around to fit as I will have to splice them to the old wires and than come down the side of the box ( on the inside of cource) across the bottom and up the side and than bend them to go into the end of the 200 amp breaker. I was wondering if it would be possible to use 3 guage welding lead wire which has much finer strands and is much more flexable with a much heavier insulation than the wire at Home depot and still stay in code. Thanks Al

murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main water shutoff problem GoodoleBob Plumbing 18 06-16-2011 10:33 PM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 07:26 PM
Breaker box has no main shutoff. SubSailor Electrical 15 02-27-2008 06:01 PM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.