Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-13-2009, 04:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Hi I have 2 200 amp Murray panels they both have the orange 200 amp breakers. On these breakers the wires (aluminum) lead to the side of the breakers. Last week I started to have a problems with one of the Panels, the problems were intermitant. Lights would go off and come on. on checking the panel I had 120 volts on every second breaker and 20 volts on the ones in between. I asertained that I needed a new breaker but after talking to several people and checking things out on various web sites, I found that Murray had stopped building that breaker. They have another breaker that will fit my panel but the wires enter from the end of the breaker. Unfortunatly the wires as they are now are not long enough to reach where they would have to go to connect the breaker. I could splice on to the wires and make them long enough, but am not sure of the right connector to use and if a splice made in the panel would be up to code. Thanks Al

murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:14 PM   #2
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


a pic of breaker would help alot Doesa it look like this

300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:21 PM   #3
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


might be alble to use
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:43 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Yes that is the one, I havent been able to remove it yet as I havent gotten a hold of the power Company yet. The breaker is in use as I type, It is not even warm so since I havent removed it yet. I am not sure if the problem is internal with the breaker or if it is like the one shown in your picture that the connection went bad with the bus plate. I found a supplier that carried the mp2200 breaker for $145 each, but my problem is still the existing wires are too short to fit the new breaker, assuming that the problem with the breaker is internal and the buss plate is not all caroded. I am not sure about splicing longer wires onto what I have and will such a splice be code and what to use for the splice. Thanks Al
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 05:53 PM   #5
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Give me a few min looking around will be right back
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:06 PM   #6
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


the main wires come into the top od breaker to lugs right
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:24 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Hi Yes the wires come in from the top of the box. Al
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 06:30 PM   #8
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Post

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Sorry i have looked everywhere and can find what you need. If you can take a pic of the breaker and print it or use your phone and go to a Electrical Supply shop NOT hd or low.I think i have seen that same breaker 200 amp but was grey I ope when the power co pulls meter out and you remove the main breaker evrything looks ok. Good Luck....I will keep thinking but someonr else might have a better idea
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2009, 10:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


I am an electrician so it is usually simple and safe for me to install longer wires from the meter socket if necessary. The cost of a couple feet of wire isn't too much.

A lot of times there is enough play to stretch the wires in place.

Seimans might make a top install version of this breaker.

Hopefully the bus isn't burned badly behind the breaker. You won't know until you pull it. Be careful not to do any more damage while pulling it out. It may be a bit welded to the bus.



PS. The Home Depot used to sell this breaker for $100

Last edited by 220/221; 10-13-2009 at 10:23 PM.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 12:29 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


First of al let me thank you all for your help. If it was only a few feet of wire between the meter and the box it would be no problem changing that but unfortunatly I have some kind if inductive meter and it is 35 feet from the box where the wires come into the house ( the wire is run undeground to the house) where the meter also is, to the two 200 amp panels. All of the wire is under sheet rock and it would be expensive and very time consuming to rewire from the meter to the panels.
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 04:29 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


My real problem is can I lengthen the 2 main wires that feed the 200 amp breaker within the panel and stay within code? thanks Al
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 05:13 PM   #12
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


If you can make them reach great but check the bus bar the breaker hooks to and make sure its not cooked(Burnt)
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 06:01 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


I have some experience with wiring, and know what burnt electrical bus bars etc. look like, if the bus bar is burnt I will seek another solution ie A new box. However if it is not burnt I basicly need an answer to the question. Can I splice onto the existing 3 guage leads with the apropriate connectors and add enough wire to go to the new breaker and still meet code? I would be splicing on to the wires in the panel box and the splice would be in the panel box
murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 06:35 PM   #14
Member
 
300zx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 630
Smile

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Quote:
Originally Posted by murray1 View Post
I have some experience with wiring, and know what burnt electrical bus bars etc. look like, if the bus bar is burnt I will seek another solution ie A new box. However if it is not burnt I basicly need an answer to the question. Can I splice onto the existing 3 guage leads with the apropriate connectors and add enough wire to go to the new breaker and still meet code? I would be splicing on to the wires in the panel box and the splice would be in the panel box
Yes they do make insulated power splices 200 amp I have been looking online for them i know our supply shop has them but i cant remember what they are called i can let you know tomorrow i am also waiting on a call from a freind he might know the name either way i will find them for you but might be tomorrow
300zx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2009, 06:57 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 11
Default

murray orange 200 amp main pannel shutoff


Thank you 300zx So it is code to splice on. I will wait for your answer to morrow. Thanks Again Al

murray1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Main water shutoff problem GoodoleBob Plumbing 18 06-16-2011 10:33 PM
Dual Main Breakers dcwestcott Electrical 3 02-23-2009 07:26 PM
Breaker box has no main shutoff. SubSailor Electrical 15 02-27-2008 06:01 PM
main lug vs main breaker for sub panel diyll Electrical 1 01-17-2008 08:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.