Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-17-2008, 11:37 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 250

multiwire branch circuit question

I'm installing an automatic transfer switch for a standby generator. I'm not an electrician, just a DIYer, but I have completely required a bathroom and such. As part of this transfer switch project, I've moved selected circuits from the main panel to the transfer switch panel (these are the circuits that will be powered by the generator). A few of these circuits appear to be "multiwire branch circuits", that is, there are black and red hot wires with a shared white (neutral) wire. I have 2 questions:

1) Every authoritative thing I've read says that the potential between the circuits that share a neutral must be 240v (that is, they are connected to different phases). This is the way they were wired in the main panel, and this is the way I've done it in the transfer switch panel. However, an electrician (who I actually had considerable faith in), insisted that it must be wired so that the potential across the circuits is 0v. I'm wondering if there is any possible scenario where this would be the correct answer.

2) In one case, one half of the multiwire branch circuits stays in the main panel, while the other goes in the transfer switch panel. Is this acceptable? If so, does it matter whether the neutral is connected to the neutral bar in the main panel or in the transfer switch panel?

Thanks.

Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:42 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,000

Each leg of the MWBC should be on opposite phases to avoid overloading the neutral.

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:49 AM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..