Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2009, 09:36 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Multiple neutrals for same circuit


Hopefully, I can explain myself clearly. I have a post and beam barn which I'm wiring up using all 3/4" EMT conduit back to a sub-panel. I'm good on how to do everything right/to code except for 1 item which I can't seem to find referenced anywhere having to do with some switched lighting which goes between two runs of EMT conduit.

I'd like to have lights off of TWO DIFFERENT conduit runs from the sub-panel switched by the SAME light switch (3 lights total.) So from where the light switch is located I have a switched hot run going to two lights then back to the sub-panel and directly into the other conduit run to the final light on the same switched circuit (this should be pretty straight forward.)

My question is how I handle the neutral wires for this light circuit? Do I *need* to run the neutral between the two conduit runs (meaning in/out one conduit run and into the other conduit run) or could I just run separate neutrals for each conduit runs (to the lights) and tie them back into the sub-panel neutral bar (meaning I'd have two separate runs of neutrals for the same circuit back to the panel? (I believe this is acceptable, but I want to be sure - i.e. it would be the same approach as pigtailing two runs off a breaker to make room in a panel for another circuit))

The reason for trying to avoid the running the neutral wire between the two conduit runs (in/out one and into the other) is that I'd add in another load carrying conductor for on one of the conduit runs. And to make things worse, I'm already at 9 load-carrying conductors so I'd end up changing my derating value for those circuits once I hit 10 conductors (lowering the overall ampacity for the circuits.)

Hopefully, this all makes sense. Any help on what is the correct way of doing this is greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Regards,
Eric


Last edited by ericdube; 07-18-2009 at 09:57 AM.
ericdube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Default

Multiple neutrals for same circuit


You can just run separate neutrals for each conduit runs (to the lights) and tie them back into the sub-panel neutral bar.

The only stipulation is that the neutral must be in the same conduit/cable as the hot (or switch leg).

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 11:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Multiple neutrals for same circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
You can just run separate neutrals for each conduit runs (to the lights) and tie them back into the sub-panel neutral bar.

The only stipulation is that the neutral must be in the same conduit/cable as the hot (or switch leg).
Thanks. I thought that might be the case, but I wanted to get a second opinion to be absolutely sure.
ericdube is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple lights and switches on one circuit Straightgrain Electrical 5 03-31-2009 07:34 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
Multiple Ceiling fans on one circuit Teddy1731 Electrical 7 06-30-2008 10:04 AM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
connecting multiple neutrals toghether best way? J187 Electrical 4 08-17-2006 09:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.