Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-28-2009, 07:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Lightbulb

Multiple "Main" breakers


Two big questions:

1: my old service interrupt [box right after meter] has 2 100 amp fuses [yes, fuses]. Does this make it a 200 amp box or 100 amp?

2: If I want to have two separate breaker panels in the house [single structure] what would a wire diagram look like from after the meter to each "main" breaker? Or do I have to run one breaker as a sub panel?

The reason for the two panels is due to the design of the house. The Great Room divides the entire house in two with two bedrooms [one used as office] and a bath on one side [same side as SEP] and the other side of the house has a bedroom, bath, kitchen, laundry, garage, etc. So I want to run one "big" wire to that part of the house since the roof rafters are all that is there to go through. So I was thinking of splitting the service to two panels. Thoughts!

jbriskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 08:26 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

Multiple "Main" breakers


You have a 100A service, you don't add up the fuses.

I would go from that disconnect to a panel(it can be either a main breaker or main lug panel). From this panel go to your subpanel.

Remember the only place your ground and neutral are connected together is in your disconnect. In your first panel the neutral will have to be isolated from the ground.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2009, 08:52 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

Multiple "Main" breakers


Quote:
Remember the only place your ground and neutral are connected together is in your disconnect. In your first panel the neutral will have to be isolated from the ground.
True, unless the main panel IS your disconnect. To wit, a breaker type panel, instead of main lug only.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2009, 10:13 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,134
Default

Multiple "Main" breakers


Goose i do agree with you, i have in my mind his panel hooked up after his fuseable disconnect.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arc Fault breakers (warning) Potomac101 Electrical 68 01-05-2012 03:22 PM
Help! Circuit breakers in trouble Circuit breakers Electrical 9 12-22-2008 12:58 PM
Subpanels & cutler hammer arc fault breakers MoreCowbell Electrical 13 04-04-2008 10:19 PM
Sub-Panel or Tandem Circuit Breakers? dgoldsmith Electrical 2 03-08-2008 12:34 PM
Zinsco breaker boxes and breakers. evosounds Electrical 3 07-29-2007 06:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.