Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2011, 03:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


I currently have 2 12 gauge lines running from the house to the garage. Both are buried UF. One of the lines is only for 2 exterior lights, everything else including a shed and pool.

I'd like to make one of the lines power only the outlets, and the other line to power everything else. How do I wire this in to a subpanel? Digging and putting in conduit/new wiring would be difficult and expensive.

matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:37 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Technically you are allowed only one line of any given kind from the house to any one detached building such as a garage. For best results it should be a 120/240 volt circuit (one neutral) aka multiwire branch circuit. (120 volt only and 120/240 volt circuits are all treated as the same kind; a 480 volt line would be a different kind.) For buildings daisy chained togehter (perhaps with sub-subpanels) only one path from any one building back to the main panel is allowed.

For now, the 12 gauge lines handle 20 amps each and no subpanels are required.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-21-2011 at 03:46 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:40 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


You have a code violation as you are not allowed to have more than one feeder to an outbuilding. There is no way to add a sub panel with the existing wiring. I would leave what you have and live with it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 04:06 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Actually I looked wrong. I have 12/2 UF feeding a subpanel that powers everything and 12/3 Romex that connects a light switch in the house and garage. Is there definitely conduit? I can't find any evidence of it on either end.

Also, how about disabling the UF and wiring up the Romex as the feeder line with a dual 20 breaker? Then I would have double the amps in the garage (and would only loose the switch in the house).
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 04:09 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Yes you could use the 12-3 as the feeder from house to garage. If buried (whether or not in conduit) it must be rated for burial e.g. UF.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 09-21-2011 at 04:12 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 04:20 PM   #6
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by matt151617 View Post
One of the lines is only for 2 exterior lights,
Are these lights controlled by a switch that is in the house?
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 04:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
Yes you could use the 12-3 as the feeder from house to garage. If buried (whether or not in conduit) it must be rated for burial e.g. UF.
It's not UF, it's maked "sunlight resistant romex".

That line connects one switch in the house and one in the garage that power exterior lights. The actual power comes from the subpanel.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 06:17 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,040
Rewards Points: 20
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Romex (a brand of NM cable) is not rated for direct burial or use in buried conduit(wet location).
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 07:32 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Yeah, I understand it's not rated for burial. However, there's no good way to get new wiring to the garage. Either I go about 15 feet straight from the panel, but it's all asphalt. Or I can go about 100 feet around the side and try to dodge the septic tank. And I still have to cross a sidewalk. And both methods involve drilling through the house and garage foundation.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 07:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


Looked at the wrong NM. This one says "ETTCO NM". It has a weird coating on it but it doesn't look like UF and it's not labeled that. I still think I will use it, run a dual 20 breaker off the panel, use the original UF line as the light switch inside, and get rid of the switch outside.
matt151617 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2011, 08:33 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,951
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Multiple Lines To Garage


If your city is still using the NEC of 2008 or earlier then the 2 wire cable can be used for a light on the house controlled by a switch in the garage or a light on the garage controlled by a switch in the house. That light subcircuit is preferably connected to power at the garage (ultimately fed by your 3 wire cable)

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weatherproofing garage help Perfik Building & Construction 2 10-17-2012 03:30 PM
Garage floor Tomperro Flooring 6 07-18-2011 12:30 AM
Insulate finished garage ceiling or condition garage? pasichnyk Building & Construction 19 12-06-2010 01:46 AM
Pouring Concrete Slab in a small rickety garage. RORO Building & Construction 0 10-19-2010 03:56 PM
Raising up my garage jimmyfloyd Building & Construction 5 09-17-2009 10:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.