Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 06:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

multiple lights wiring


hello, sorry i'm new here, i have a question i'm trying, and not succeeding, to wire 3 light on 1 switch.
the power comes from a receptacle, goes to light1, from there it splits and goes to light2, light3 and switch.
what i did is connect the HOT coming from the receptacle to the WHITE going to the switch.
the WHITE coming from the recept. is connected to all the WHITES.
and the remaining BLACK wires are all connected together.
what am i doing wrong?
please help, thanks!

gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:54 PM   #2
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gaia View Post
hello, sorry i'm new here, i have a question i'm trying, and not succeeding, to wire 3 light on 1 switch.
the power comes from a receptacle, goes to light1, from there it splits and goes to light2, light3 and switch.
what i did is connect the HOT coming from the receptacle to the WHITE going to the switch.
the WHITE coming from the recept. is connected to all the WHITES.
and the remaining BLACK wires are all connected together.
what am i doing wrong?
please help, thanks!
How are the lights actually wired? does the switch go to light1 as well? if not, then you need xx-3 conductor between the lights.

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 07:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,593
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gaia View Post
hello, sorry i'm new here, i have a question i'm trying, and not succeeding, to wire 3 light on 1 switch.
one drawing does not have 3 lites but you should get the idea.

Grounds not shown for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
multiple lights wiring-1-switch-2-lites-all-switch.jpg   multiple lights wiring-3-lites-daisy-chained.jpg   multiple lights wiring-control-multiple-lites.jpg  

Last edited by hammerlane; 04-14-2013 at 08:01 PM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
gaia (04-14-2013)
Old 04-14-2013, 09:23 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

multiple lights wiring


i don't know if it makes any sense to you guys, that's how i done it...
Attached Thumbnails
multiple lights wiring-dscf6161.jpg  

Last edited by gaia; 04-14-2013 at 09:27 PM.
gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:35 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

multiple lights wiring


From your diagram, it appears that you are tying the white wire and the bare wire together? If so, you need to separate the white (neutral) and the bare/green (ground).
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:38 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
From your diagram, it appears that you are tying the white wire and the bare wire together? If so, you need to separate the white (neutral) and the bare/green (ground).
in my diagram there's no ground, i left it out. there's WHITE AND BLACK.
gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:39 PM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gaia View Post
in my diagram there's no ground, i left it out. there's WHITE AND BLACK.
It appeared you had 3 wires, now I see what you did. Your drawing looks correct.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:41 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
It appeared you had 3 wires, now I see what you did. Your drawing looks correct.
then the lights hate me! the one on the right never shouts off and the one at the bottom it flickers...
gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 09:51 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by gaia View Post
then the lights hate me! the one on the right never shouts off and the one at the bottom it flickers...
Check you splices/connections again. The lights will work properly by the switch as you have drawn it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:15 PM   #10
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,129
Rewards Points: 3,052
Blog Entries: 4
Default

multiple lights wiring


Your description sounds correct. What is not working?
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 10:26 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

multiple lights wiring


The most common cuprit will be useally wirenut splices., double check them to make sure they are tight and on in correct way.

Also double check at the luminaire location as well to make sure they are on good as well.

The diagram you post is correct but watch the room on one of the junction box ( this will depending on which type of junction box you used.)

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 11:33 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

multiple lights wiring


thanks to everybody, i'll try again tomorrow
gaia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:07 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,593
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

multiple lights wiring


If power is going to the upper plug on the receptacle, Could the tab be broken on the receptacle so that the lower plug has no power?
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:23 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
If power is going to the upper plug on the receptacle, Could the tab be broken on the receptacle so that the lower plug has no power?
None of the lights would at all then.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2013, 07:33 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,593
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

multiple lights wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
None of the lights would at all then.
OK..I must of browsed over the post where he said that one works, one flickers and one does not shut off.

Like others have said, the diagram in post #4 is correct. The question remains does the wiring you did match that diagram???


Last edited by hammerlane; 04-15-2013 at 07:42 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wooden canopy for multiple pendant lights BurkeW Electrical 3 01-29-2013 03:20 PM
HELP!! 3 way wiring for lights with 3 zones BigSi Electrical 7 01-28-2013 11:10 PM
Wiring multiple fluorescent lights to a single wall switch. Hambone111 Electrical 3 12-30-2012 07:51 PM
Help with wiring: 1 switch controlling 2 lights streko Electrical 6 05-02-2012 10:43 PM
Multiple Motion Sensor Lights Tripping GFCI Wan Miguel Electrical 6 05-05-2010 12:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.