Multiple Lights And Switches On One Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-30-2009, 07:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multiple lights and switches on one circuit


Good morning everyone!

Can you have a new AFCI lighting circuit with multiple fixtures and switches on the that one circuit. In other words, from the panel have for example in adjacent rooms three lights controlled by one switch (2-way), then another light controlled by two switches (3-way), then five lights controlled by one switch (2-way), etc. Basically a series of lights (2-way and 3-way) controlled by different switches all on one circuit?
How would you do that?


Trying to keep my basement lighting on it's own circuit while coming reasonble close to comfortably maxing the wattage.

Thanks for any advice

Advertisement

Straightgrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 07:35 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Multiple lights and switches on one circuit


Take the power from the panel into the first switch. From that switch, run a cable to the fixture, and run a cable to the next switch you need power in. Continue this pattern untill you have power to all switches and fixtures.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 09:05 AM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Multiple lights and switches on one circuit


Sure you can. It is done all the time. You can even have receptacles on the circuit if you want.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 11:05 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multiple lights and switches on one circuit


Thanks jbfan and joed.
Straightgrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 09:45 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multiple lights and switches on one circuit


This was a good question but I want to take it one step further for my project.

Can I run the power from the panel directly to a series of lights then to the switch.....then take power from that switch to run another run to the other lights and switches in the other room? Basically not run from the power to the switch and split the circuit to the other room. Just trying to be efficient with the use of wire.

Thanks
Basement Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 08:34 AM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,378
Rewards Points: 3,550
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Multiple lights and switches on one circuit


Sure you can. However you must run 14/3 cable between the lights and to the first switch.

Advertisement

joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire Multiple Lights controlled by 4-way Switch? mfleming Electrical 17 11-20-2008 09:46 AM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 08:59 PM
Multiple 4 way switches stopped working Keniki Electrical 3 07-30-2008 02:34 PM
3 switches 1 light. need 2 lights 2 switches. Im desprete s richards Electrical 6 07-19-2008 04:18 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts