Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-07-2012, 12:59 PM   #1
Newbie
 
CollinMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

multiple lights on a 3 way switch


what did i do wrong; i connected multiple outdoor lights to an existing eave mount which has a single 3 way switch using 14 -2 wiring it worked fine of a few weeks but now trips the circuit breaker when turned on.

CollinMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 01:45 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Rewards Points: 0
Default

multiple lights on a 3 way switch


Typically a 3 way switch isn't wired with a 14-2. Did you replace the switch?

If not, it would appear there is a short in the wiring or a burn out light bulb is shorting out. Anyway you look at it, if you didn't change the wiring at the switch and after you installed the new lights, it is starting to trip, something is wrong in the wiring of the lights or the lights themselves.

k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 02:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
CollinMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

multiple lights on a 3 way switch


I didn't change anything just connected the 14- 2 to the existing 14-3 wiring ... thanks for you suggestions ... really hope one of em' resolves it
CollinMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 03:55 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,589
Rewards Points: 112
Default

multiple lights on a 3 way switch


It worked after you made the change or it tripped the breaker after you made the change?
If it worked for a time then something has shorted. Perhaps one of the cable clamps is too tight and cut the cable. Start disconnecting sections of the circuit and find which section is bad.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2012, 05:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
CollinMc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

multiple lights on a 3 way switch


Gents it was a short (frayed hot wire) found it in the very first section of wiring. Thanks
CollinMc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Multiple lights with one switch DIY Mark Electrical 1 12-03-2011 11:15 AM
Dimmer switch burned out my fan lights?? Dannery Electrical 1 09-14-2011 08:58 PM
Help with Two Switches & Two Lights simplyphp Electrical 36 11-25-2010 02:47 PM
Wiring Lights and Running Multiple Circuits in Conduit mark_anderson_u Electrical 0 11-02-2010 09:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.