Multiple Ground Rods, Help - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2012, 11:16 AM   #16
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


If you are worried about a ground I would make sure you have two 8 foot ground rods with a continuous run of #4 wire and connect it to your main panels ground/neutral buss.

4 foot rods sound like a waste of time to me.

Advertisement

rrolleston is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:14 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Ok, it sounds like I'll be running some copper wire from my new subpanel and connecting it to the existing 8ft ground rod and then on to the new 8ft ground rod (continous).

Is there any issue with having a gradual bend, as I'm depicting, with the new copper wire?

Thanks, Ralph
Attached Thumbnails
Multiple Ground Rods, help-scan_pic0001b.jpg  

Last edited by Ralph III; 02-10-2012 at 02:17 PM.
Ralph III is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 02:17 PM   #18
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


You do not run from the subpanel. Your grounding comes from your service panel.

The grounding for the subpanel is in the 4 wire feeder from the service panel.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:11 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by plummen View Post
This way has always made sense to me anyway
This arrangement gives you a Single Point Ground (at the service box), which probably has no electrical disadvantages.
Yoyizit is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 04:31 PM   #20
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


In the sketch shown in post 18 both the conductors from the panel to the 8' rod and from the phone to the conductor going to the 8' rod are correct. Just add a piece of #6 from the first rod to another 8' rod driven at least 6' from the first 8' rod.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 06:35 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
In the sketch shown in post 18 both the conductors from the panel to the 8' rod and from the phone to the conductor going to the 8' rod are correct. Just add a piece of #6 from the first rod to another 8' rod driven at least 6' from the first 8' rod.
Jim, do you mean add another rod so he has a total of three 8' rods?
zappa is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 06:55 PM   #22
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


No, just connect the two 8' rods with a piece of #6.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 08:33 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Md/Pa
Posts: 1,471
Rewards Points: 1,298
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


K thanks, I saw that wire connecting the 2 rods 18" below the surface and was confused.
zappa is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:15 PM   #24
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


I interpreted that as coming from the sub.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:35 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You do not run from the subpanel. Your grounding comes from your service panel.

The grounding for the subpanel is in the 4 wire feeder from the service panel.

Thanks Jim,
I'll run a new copper ground wire from the load center neutral buss to the existing 8ft ground rod and then on to the second 8ft ground rod.


If someone could answer this question as it has yet to be addressed.

I do prefer to run a second copper ground wire from the load center to the ground rod due to noted concerns with existing copper wire (bends & size). If for no other reason piece of mind.

Anyhow, is a gradual bend as I've depicted in post #18 ok? It is shown as coming from the sub panel but will actually come from the load center.


God Bless

Last edited by Ralph III; 02-10-2012 at 09:38 PM.
Ralph III is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 09:40 PM   #26
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,997
Rewards Points: 2,792
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Ralph, there is no need to go back into the panel buss. You can just jumper between the two rods.

As far as the bend, why not come straight down and place the sweep under the dirt? I think it would look better. The way it is installed with the off angle bend would drive me nuts as it looks like someone did not care what it looked like. Functionally it is fine.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now  
Old 02-10-2012, 10:27 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Ralph, there is no need to go back into the panel buss. You can just jumper between the two rods.

As far as the bend, why not come straight down and place the sweep under the dirt? I think it would look better. The way it is installed with the off angle bend would drive me nuts as it looks like someone did not care what it looked like. Functionally it is fine.

Just to confirm:

I should simply connect the two ground rods together and you feel the existing copper wire, running from the meter, is perfectly fine.

I will address the bends however as that was a tacky way of doing it.

Take care.
Ralph III is offline  
Old 02-10-2012, 10:46 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 852
Rewards Points: 724
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph III View Post
Just to confirm:

I should simply connect the two ground rods together and you feel the existing copper wire, running from the meter, is perfectly fine.

I will address the bends however as that was a tacky way of doing it.

Take care.

Your utility is fed underground. That means your risk of transient damage is much lower than an aerial fed power line. I think you are solving a problem that doesn't exist.
curiousB is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to curiousB For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (02-12-2012)
Old 02-10-2012, 11:25 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alabama
Posts: 246
Rewards Points: 180
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by curiousB View Post
Your utility is fed underground. That means your risk of transient damage is much lower than an aerial fed power line. I think you are solving a problem that doesn't exist.
Well maybe, but I'd rather be safe than sorry especially considering how cheap it is to add a second ground rod.

Just FYI, that underground utility feed to our house comes from overhead wires and a light pole about 30ft away.

Take care,
Ralph
Ralph III is offline  
Old 02-11-2012, 10:46 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Multiple Ground Rods, help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ralph III View Post
Well maybe, but I'd rather be safe than sorry especially considering how cheap it is to add a second ground rod.

Just FYI, that underground utility feed to our house comes from overhead wires and a light pole about 30ft away.

Take care,
Ralph
Still, I'd think that the underground part would act like a distributed resistance and distributed capacitance and so somewhat lessen the effect of a lightning strike.

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline  
Closed Thread


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multiple Grounding Rods hayashi Electrical 22 11-30-2011 03:54 AM
New detached garage with sub and ground, house has no ground at panel italie Electrical 9 09-12-2011 03:43 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 05:02 PM
240 volt load/appliance and ground vs neutral kgize Electrical 7 04-23-2010 12:40 AM
Bonding Ground in Conduit jamiedolan Electrical 5 01-26-2010 11:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts