Multiple Fixtures Wired On A Switch Loop - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2008, 07:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Question

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


I would like to wire multiple light fixtures on a switch loop. I understand wiring one fixture, but I am confused when I consider additional fixtures. There doesn't seem to be enough wires coming from the first fixture. I am using 2-wire cable. Do I need a length of 3-wire cable also? I have not attempted to wire this yet. I have only drawn my own diagrams, and can't figure it out. Is this even possible?

Thanks,
Chad

Advertisement


Last edited by brotherman; 07-08-2008 at 07:46 PM.
brotherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 08:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


Is this a 3-way switch system?
Regardless, you simply daisy-chain the light fixtures using 2 wire (plus ground of course) between the fixtures.

You need 3 wire cable between 3-way switches though.

FW

Advertisement

fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:42 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


Quote:
Originally Posted by brotherman View Post
I would like to wire multiple light fixtures on a switch loop. I understand wiring one fixture, but I am confused when I consider additional fixtures. There doesn't seem to be enough wires coming from the first fixture. I am using 2-wire cable. Do I need a length of 3-wire cable also? I have not attempted to wire this yet. I have only drawn my own diagrams, and can't figure it out. Is this even possible?

Thanks,
Chad
If the feed is at one end of the lights and the switch leg is on the other end, than yes you need a 3 wire between the fixtures.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 09:58 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,346
Rewards Points: 3,486
Blog Entries: 4
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


You need three wire cable. It looks like this when wired.

joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 10:04 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


Heres a few examples...

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 04:21 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 308
Rewards Points: 250
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


Sorry about my ignorance. I was assuming the feed was from the switch. I should never have assumed this, since I have seen it the other way many times.

FW
fw2007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 04:47 PM   #7
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


Quote:
Originally Posted by fw2007 View Post
Sorry about my ignorance. I was assuming the feed was from the switch.

FW
The OP said he was using a switch loop.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 10:46 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

multiple fixtures wired on a switch loop


Thanks to everyone for your help.

Thanks,
Chad

Advertisement

brotherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To Switch loop or not to switch loop beezlebub03 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 07:04 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 02:19 AM
switch loop aokss Electrical 13 05-07-2007 09:41 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM
Voltage Drop between switch and fixtures CaptMike Electrical 1 06-24-2005 10:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts