Multiple Circuits - Same Box With Grounds - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-19-2011, 01:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


If I have two different circuits coming into a box, is it kosher to connect all grounds, even if they cross circuits? I haven't been, but was just thinking it might not matter either way . . .

Advertisement

Shaotzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 01:47 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


"even if they cross circuits" ?? Not sure what that means.

Grounds from different circuits can be spliced in a junction (or switch, or receptacle) box. They should also attach to any grounded switch and on receptacles.

Advertisement

sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
Shaotzu (05-19-2011)
Old 05-19-2011, 02:11 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
"even if they cross circuits" ?? Not sure what that means.

Grounds from different circuits can be spliced in a junction (or switch, or receptacle) box. They should also attach to any grounded switch and on receptacles.
I think that answers it, but in a box, I have two cables that are carrying power in to the junction box from different circuit breakers (lights and receptacles are on different circuits, and they happen to meet in this box). I was just making sure that I could connect all the grounds from Circuit 1 and Circuit 2. Logically, I think it makes sense, but just wanted some validation in case there was either some risk I wasn't aware of, or some code issue that would pop up that says you can't connect grounds for some reason if they are on different circuits from each other. (All is still 15A service on 14/2 wire)
Shaotzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 02:20 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


it's all good. grounds connected and pigtailed to receptacles or switches where possible.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
Shaotzu (05-19-2011)
Old 05-19-2011, 02:51 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
it's all good. grounds connected and pigtailed to receptacles or switches where possible.
Thanks! That's what I figured, but I'm planning on calling for inspection tomorrow, and I've learned not to assume with respect to electricity.
Shaotzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 05:18 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,996
Rewards Points: 2,790
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


Yes, the grounds from all the circuits get tied together.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 10:22 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,976
Rewards Points: 2,048
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


The difference is that you do not connect the neutrals of the different circuits together. The neutral for each load is connected only to the neutral that accompanies the hot line serving that load. That is, there must be only one possible neutral path from any load back to the panel and it must accompany the matching hot.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 01:06 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shaotzu View Post
If I have two different circuits coming into a box, is it kosher to connect all grounds, even if they cross circuits? I haven't been, but was just thinking it might not matter either way . . .
Not only can they be, they should be. All grounds in any one location should all be connected together, and to the enclosure if it is metal. The more simultaneous ground paths, the better.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 05:40 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 66
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Multiple Circuits - Same Box with Grounds


Makes complete sense! Thanks guys! And... Inspector came out yesterday and cleared the work.

Advertisement

Shaotzu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Split receptacles, double pole breakers and multiple circuits in a junction box. morganhammer Electrical 6 04-05-2011 05:38 PM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 11:07 AM
Multiple Circuits in Same Octagon Box? ldogg Electrical 5 01-03-2011 11:07 AM
Wiring Lights and Running Multiple Circuits in Conduit mark_anderson_u Electrical 0 11-02-2010 10:06 AM
Multiple circuits losing power Skip72 Electrical 6 09-20-2010 11:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts