Multiple Circuits - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 05:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multiple circuits


I am building a power source for a hayride and I need four outlets on four switches all running from one power source. How do I connect them all without interfering with each other?

Advertisement

Chad Ferguson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Rochsolid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts: 97
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Multiple circuits


If all switches are in the same box, bring power into the box, then make 4 pigtail going to each switch, then bring a whip out to each plug as put each hot wire from the plug on the switch which you wish to use to control that olug

Advertisement

Rochsolid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 06:48 PM   #3
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,759
Rewards Points: 1,102
Default

Multiple circuits


Use four of these;

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Multiple circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Ferguson View Post
I need four outlets on four switches all running from one power source. How do I connect them all without interfering with each other?
Is you power coming into the switch location?
Attached Thumbnails
Multiple circuits-new-bitmap-image.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:40 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,222
Rewards Points: 2,354
Default

Multiple circuits


Better be a short hayride or you will need a long extension cord.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (09-17-2012)
Old 09-17-2012, 07:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Multiple circuits


Or if you have the power coming into one of the receptacle locations, do the following.

NOTE..I did not show ground wires in any of the diagrams for ease of drawing
Attached Thumbnails
Multiple circuits-new-bitmap-image-2.jpg  
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 07:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,611
Rewards Points: 2,130
Default

Multiple circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chad Ferguson View Post
I am building a power source for a hayride and I need four outlets on four switches all running from one power source. How do I connect them all without interfering with each other?

This scenario is a pretty easy figure out with just a very basic understanding of electrical...like electric 101 basic. So I ask that you be careful since I assume others will be involved in this hayride.

Advertisement

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Controlling multiple circuits from a single timer? clashley Electrical 4 12-05-2011 09:09 PM
Split receptacles, double pole breakers and multiple circuits in a junction box. morganhammer Electrical 6 04-05-2011 05:38 PM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 11:07 AM
Wiring Lights and Running Multiple Circuits in Conduit mark_anderson_u Electrical 0 11-02-2010 10:06 AM
Multiple circuits losing power Skip72 Electrical 6 09-20-2010 11:27 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts