Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-28-2011, 12:19 PM   #1
Developer by Day
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to KevinACrider
Share |
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


During a bathroom remodel I removed 2x 220 volt baseboard heaters. I will be installing 1 new heater on the same line. This will be the only appliance on this circuit. I've just brought my 220 volt air compressor home as well, and I do not have any empty slots in my breaker box to wire it up.

Is it possible to connect the air compressor and a single baseboard heater on the same 220 circuit, assuming I have the correct size breaker, without doing any damage? In all instances previously I have had the air compressor on it's own dedicated breaker, but that is no longer doable. I also have a 220 volt welder that could use some juice but I do not want to throw that into the equation yet as I may never use it until we move again. Not much room around here to be welding.

KevinACrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 12:39 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


I think I would rather try to find a couple "light loaded" 110 breakers and combine them...there-by freeing up 2 spaces for a new 220 breaker.

To answer your actual question, I don't think it would damage anything, but it may trip if the heater and the compressor are both running at the same time...depending on how much current each one draws, naturally.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 12:55 PM   #3
Developer by Day
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to KevinACrider
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post
I think I would rather try to find a couple "light loaded" 110 breakers and combine them...there-by freeing up 2 spaces for a new 220 breaker.

To answer your actual question, I don't think it would damage anything, but it may trip if the heater and the compressor are both running at the same time...depending on how much current each one draws, naturally.
Right, I do understand it comes down to the current draw and I do not have that information on hand. I can get it tonight and post it here.

I will have to investigate further and see if I can find some lightly loaded 110 circuits, I would only need to free up one.
KevinACrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 01:01 PM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


Quote:
I will have to investigate further and see if I can find some lightly loaded 110 circuits, I would only need to free up one.


I assume that means you already have one space open...because, I'm sure you know a 220 breaker needs 2 spaces.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 02:18 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


or you could replace 4 single pole breaker by 2 tandem breakers (be very careful with mwbc if doing that), that will free up 2 spaces
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:55 PM   #6
Developer by Day
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to KevinACrider
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jproffer View Post


I assume that means you already have one space open...because, I'm sure you know a 220 breaker needs 2 spaces.
I'm sorry, yes, 2 spaces technically. My box has openings grouped in 2's, so 1 space is actually 2 circuits, or 1x 220 breaker, etc etc. But yes, I know what you mean.
KevinACrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2011, 03:55 PM   #7
Developer by Day
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 33
Send a message via AIM to KevinACrider
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmusic View Post
or you could replace 4 single pole breaker by 2 tandem breakers (be very careful with mwbc if doing that), that will free up 2 spaces
Are those the single space breakers with 2 tiny little levers on them?
KevinACrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2011, 07:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 209
Default

Multiple Appliances on 220 Volt Outlet


yes they are

carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
Wiring a GFCI Outdoor Outlet from an Inside Outlet - Parallel or Series? Pacal Electrical 28 11-13-2010 03:36 PM
Should I replace a 240 volt outlet when getting a new AC sxn77 Electrical 18 05-08-2009 11:23 AM
Can I run two 220 volt devices off of one outlet stringpickin Electrical 39 04-26-2009 12:48 PM
European 220V outlet "Schuko" estophile Electrical 6 08-27-2005 08:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.