Multiple 3-way Dimmers + 1 3-way Switch On One Circuit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2013, 12:24 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multiple 3-way dimmers + 1 3-way switch on one circuit


I moved into a new house. I have a 4-gang wall plate which had 3 single pole dimmers and 1 3-way switch. The 3-way switch never had any effect, but the 3 dimmers each controlled their own bank of lights that are all on one circuit.

The dimmers had two black wires each. One of each was connected to it's own hot, while the other wire was pigtailed from one dimmer to the next, where it was finally pigtailed to the 3 way switch.

With the exception of the switch not doing anything, the dimmers all worked fine.

I decided I wanted to replace the dimmers with 3-way dimmers and take advantage of the 3-way switch as well. The new Leviton dimmers have 1 black and 2 red wires. The 3-way switch has 2 black wires and 1 red wire connected.

I connected the 3 dimmers, the red wire of each goes to the hot for it's bank of lights, and the black wire pigtails to the next dimmer, with the final dimmer pig tailing to the switch.

Now, the switch still has no effect, but only the first two dimmers will turn on their lights - the 3rd dimmer turned on its lights a couple of times but now it doesn't turn on those lights at all.

Ack! What do I do?

Advertisement

onelesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 01:46 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multiple 3-way dimmers + 1 3-way switch on one circuit


So I re-wired the whole thing, and changed positions of the dimmers, to try and rule out the 3rd dimmer being defective. The non-working dimmer was moved to the 1st position, and it still doesn't work, but the 2nd and 3rd do now. I must have a defective one, going to return it.

Still can't figure out why the switch isn't working though.

Advertisement

onelesd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 02:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,817
Rewards Points: 1,514
Default

Multiple 3-way dimmers + 1 3-way switch on one circuit


My guess is that the single pole dimmers controlled all of the lights in the room. What the three way switch was for, needs knowledge of the house. It may have controlled an outside light or something else.

Did you ever try locating the other 3 way that works with that switch ?
Oso954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:45 AM   #4
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,035
Rewards Points: 2,868
Default

Multiple 3-way dimmers + 1 3-way switch on one circuit


Changing a single pole switch to a 3 way does not give you the ability to switch the lights from a second location. There is new wiring that needs to be run to the new switch location.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
MTN REMODEL LLC (05-15-2013)
Old 05-15-2013, 09:47 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,628
Rewards Points: 2,164
Default

Multiple 3-way dimmers + 1 3-way switch on one circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Changing a single pole switch to a 3 way does not give you the ability to switch the lights from a second location. There is new wiring that needs to be run to the new switch location.
I agree. The only thing a 3-way switch acts as without another 3-way switch is STDP switch.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to wire multiple lights in attic on same circuit? bottlerockett Electrical 25 06-04-2011 05:27 PM
New Pilot Light Switch - Neutral From Another Circuit OK? appleye1 Electrical 7 03-07-2011 09:23 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 03:44 PM
3-way light with a twist Jeepsail Electrical 14 05-18-2010 02:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts