Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-28-2009, 10:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Multiple 240V appliances


I have two cooking appliances that are rated 12A @ 240V in a non-dwelling and not a kitchen (no sink in this room).

Can I put these on a single 30A 2P circuit?

My confusion is that they each use a 15A 240V cord and plug connection. Each is 12A, circuit rating needs to be 12A X 125% = 15A. However, 210.21(B)(3) reads:

(3) Receptacle Ratings. Where connected to a branch circuit supplying two or more receptacles or outlets, receptacle ratings shall conform to the values listed in Table 210.21(B)(3), or where larger than 50 amperes, the receptacle rating shall not be less than the branch-circuit rating.



Tables 210.21(B)(3) and 210.24 identify that receptacles on 30A branch circuits must be rated at 30A. My receptacles will be 15A/240V to match the appliance cords.

Does this mean I have to run two 15A 2P circuits?

wirefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 01:57 AM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Multiple 240V appliances


Quote:
Originally Posted by wirefixer View Post
I have two cooking appliances that are rated 12A @ 240V in a non-dwelling and not a kitchen (no sink in this room).

Can I put these on a single 30A 2P circuit?

My confusion is that they each use a 15A 240V cord and plug connection. Each is 12A, circuit rating needs to be 12A X 125% = 15A. However, 210.21(B)(3) reads:

(3) Receptacle Ratings. Where connected to a branch circuit supplying two or more receptacles or outlets, receptacle ratings shall conform to the values listed in Table 210.21(B)(3), or where larger than 50 amperes, the receptacle rating shall not be less than the branch-circuit rating.



Tables 210.21(B)(3) and 210.24 identify that receptacles on 30A branch circuits must be rated at 30A. My receptacles will be 15A/240V to match the appliance cords.

Does this mean I have to run two 15A 2P circuits?
What are the chances of them being used at the same time? If it's unlikely, you could put them both on a 20 A circuit. Or you could run a 30 A circuit and put a fused switch at each location to protect each one at 15 A. Or you could run a circuit to each one. Which one is the easiest and cheapest and best way to get the job done?

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2009, 02:00 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Multiple 240V appliances


Both will be used at the same time. I will check the size of the existing conduit to see if I can run separate circuits after derating.
wirefixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Air Compressor to 120v help ruacoltsnut General DIY Discussions 10 11-11-2010 04:05 PM
Converting std 220v/60hz to Single phase 240V 3-wire jryali Electrical 19 03-23-2009 11:06 PM
New stainless appliances poolecw Appliances 2 12-04-2008 02:23 PM
Are European appliances really that much better? home_improver Appliances 2 09-30-2008 06:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.