Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-15-2011, 04:14 PM   #1
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


I am planning on adding a 20 amp MWBC to my outbuilding. The distance from the new sub panel in my attached garage is about 60 feet. I am planning on burying 10-3 UF from the garage to my out building (24" deep). I have a good supply of the 10-3 UF on hand so that is why I am using it. 20 Amp 2 pole breaker in the sub panel. Now I get to my issue, I know I need a disconnect in the outbuilding and I have this on hand:


It is a GE TL412CP load center, 125 amp, 4 space, 8 circuit panel. My idea is to add a 20 amp 2 pole breaker with a hold down kit and back feed it with the 10-3 UF from the sub panel and 2 20 amp single pole breakers for the 2 20 amp circuits derived from the MWBC. I know that I will have to add a ground bar to keep the neutrals and grounds separate. I realize this is probably overkill but I have all the parts on hand with no other uses for them. I also realize that this fills the panel but I have no need for any additional circuits or capacity in this outbuilding.

Question: Is this a disconnect for a MWBC or have I just created another sub panel? If it is a sub panel I need to add ground rods which was not my original intent. Will not using the 2 pole breaker with the hold down but just use the 2 single pole breakers as disconnects for the MWBC make any difference? I have looked at my NEC but I will admit it is confusing me.

If it walks like a duck and quacks like a duck, must it be a duck?

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 04:28 PM   #2
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


2 pole breaker or 2 single poles with handle tie is fine.

You have created a sub panel, rods or such needed.

Why not a 30 amp breaker for the #10?

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 04:32 PM   #3
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


If you do not want to use rods, a double pole switch will work and no rods needed. No sub panel. 2 20 amp circuits in a MWBC.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 04:55 PM   #4
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
If you do not want to use rods, a double pole switch will work and no rods needed. No sub panel. 2 20 amp circuits in a MWBC.
You have given me the answer I was suspecting I would get. I was trying to use up some of my spare parts which does not include any ground rods or #6 wire. I think you are right and take the easy route and use switch(es).
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 05:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
You have given me the answer I was suspecting I would get. I was trying to use up some of my spare parts which does not include any ground rods or #6 wire. I think you are right and take the easy route and use switch(es).
You send me the panel and I will send the switch. Deal?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 05:17 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


2 single pole 20 amp switches would be legal also as disconnects if they grouped/next to each other.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
rjniles (09-15-2011)
Old 09-15-2011, 05:32 PM   #7
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
You send me the panel and I will send the switch. Deal?
I would hate to cheat you that much, I will keep what I have.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 05:41 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
2 single pole 20 amp switches would be legal also as disconnects if they grouped/next to each other.
What I think I have decided on is to terminate the 10-3 UF in a 2 gang box with 2 20 amp switches. Then mount another 2 gang below (or above) that and install 2 GFCI receptacles. Then come off the load terminals of the GFCIs to my existing wiring for receptacles and lighting. (The outbuilding is already wired with a single 15 amp circuit (14-2 UF cable) that I am removing. The wiring in the building is 12-2 NM.)

Thanks for the help and interpretation.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:23 PM   #9
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


lighting does not need GFCI protection.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:27 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
lighting does not need GFCI protection.
True, but the 2 circuits will have a mixture of lights and receptacles (unless I do more rewiring than I would like).
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:31 PM   #11
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I would hate to cheat you that much, I will keep what I have.
I am willing to send you 2 switches for the panel. Whadaya say?
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:34 PM   #12
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I am willing to send you 2 switches for the panel. Whadaya say?
I pass, never know when I might find a use for it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:38 PM   #13
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
I pass, never know when I might find a use for it.
I am starting to think you are not falling for my silly offer.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2011, 06:46 PM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,161
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Multi Wire Branch Circuit ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
I am starting to think you are not falling for my silly offer.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
multi light circuit questions Temblor Electrical 7 07-11-2011 03:32 PM
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 04:25 PM
change wire size in a circuit? mtmisfit Electrical 2 10-17-2010 02:07 PM
Splicing on 6 gauge wire paxprobellum Electrical 58 08-29-2009 02:22 AM
Wire size for dryer jamiedolan Electrical 14 01-15-2009 06:43 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.