Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-27-2009, 06:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 122
Share |
Default

Multi-wire Branch


So this is my bathroom layout. i have a 2 gang switch box that will be fed by a gfi outlet (load side to feed the 2 gang). I want to run a 12-3 from the switch to the fan. The red wire will be used as the "hot" to feed the lights. Then i will use 12-2 to go to the light from the fan. Reason being fed by the gfi is the fan will be above the shower (or close enough to it i want it protected).

would this be to code? i want to minumize the wiring.
Attached Thumbnails
Multi-wire Branch-wire.jpg  

baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 06:40 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Multi-wire Branch


No problem. Provided the branch circuit coming up from the panel does not also serve lights or receptacles etc. in any other room or bathroom. It may serve lights and receptacles in just that one bathroom or it may serve receptacles only in one or more bathrooms.

Note that this is not technically called a "multiwire branch circuit" since it does not use both sides of (both hot wires from) the 120/240 volt service.

For those eavesdropping, if a multiwire branch circuit fed the whole shebang and a GFI breaker set was not used down at the panel, the multiwire feature must end at the first GFI receptacle. From there separate neutrals must continue on. A neutral from the load side of the GFCI unit goes with the hot from the load side and a different neutral continues on to go with the other hot wire at another GFCI receptacle. These separate neutrals are not tied togetehr if both hot/neutral pairs should come togehter at another outlet box but ground wires are always tied together wherver they come together.

Correction: The multiwire feature can continue past a GFCI receptacle as wiring daisy chained off the line side and therefore not protected by that particular GFCI. In the OP's case the hot (both line-unprotected and load-protected sides) connected to the GFCI for that bathroom may not serve any other room.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 08-27-2009 at 07:14 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 06:51 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 122
Default

Multi-wire Branch


So can i do with with a gfi outlet and not a gfi breaker?
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:09 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,867
Default

Multi-wire Branch


Yes you may use a GFI receptacle in that bathroom and continue on from there to your double switch box to do the wiring as you described.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:23 AM   #5
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

Multi-wire Branch


Allan is correct, but I want to point out that you cannot separately protect the fan and not the light. In other words, you can either GFCI protect both or neither.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 07:26 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 122
Default

Multi-wire Branch


yeah i knew that. in this circuit they both would be protected. Besides if the outlet tripped and there would be no power in the bath is there any other downfall to doing this? is this a common thing to do? I want the "sparky inspector" to only com eout once for a rough-in!
baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2009, 08:11 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 122
Default

Multi-wire Branch


Also are these types of connectors ok to use instead of wire nuts (will it pass code)?

If not what is the recommended color nut to use for 12 and 14?
Attached Images
 

baum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a wall switch to a pull chain fixture abacuslearns Electrical 17 12-20-2011 06:02 PM
Red wire is HOT genner Electrical 15 02-22-2009 08:14 PM
How difficult is 8 AWG wire to work with? PirateKatz Electrical 13 02-16-2009 12:05 PM
Melted Service Entrance Wire in Panel theatretch85 Electrical 13 08-22-2008 10:37 AM
Stove Top wire capt2 Electrical 8 10-05-2007 01:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.