Multi Sub Panels - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-17-2012, 08:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North and East Texas
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 105
Default

Multi Sub Panels


While redoing our kitchen (1950's house) I ran a lot of new branch circuits and added a few more sub panels. The electrical is a mess (other then what I re-did) due to bonding issues and grounding issues. I need some advice.

Main panel: 200 amp panel (pass through panel) that does supply 2 branch circuit takeoffs for sub panels (these are small branches not connected to the main structure and not an issue yet). There is 3/0, 3/0, 3/0 THHN coming off the pass through lugs. Guess the conduit was supposed to be the ground.

Conduit carrying 3x 3/0 runs on exterior to huge J box where a splice is that leads to the first interior panel- 200 amp sub with neutrals and grounds co mingled. No continuation of conduit to this panel so just 3 x 3/0 copper here.

External conduit continues from splice point to 2nd exterior J box where it is spliced with jacketed 3/0 copper without a ground and this runs up into attic and down a wall into the walk in pantry with the 2nd 200 amp panel that I re-did.

A licensed electrician told me that he considers it as 2 main panels so I should bond the grounds to neutrals at both. I feel from my research that the pass through panel should be the main panel and the 2 sub panels need a ground run to each.

I'm thinking about running the 3/0 x 3 with #6 ground to first panel, splicing it with splice lugs to continue to the 2nd panel. If necessary I can reduce size of neutral to 2/0 or 1/0 if the existing 3/0 won't make home runs and I have to purchase new copper.

I'm in an unincorporated area without any inspectors and really would like some input. I'll probably use an electrician as pulling these won't be a one man job but I know I'll need to be informed as much as possible to avoid putting it into yet another dangerous situation.

Thanks !!

Advertisement

Daltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 08:46 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multi Sub Panels


The main panel (as you call it) is on the outside of the house?

It doesn't sound like there is a disconnect in it. The neutral/ground bond is always at the first means of disconnect.

Advertisement

Joconfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 09:10 PM   #3
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Multi Sub Panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daltex View Post
No continuation of conduit to this panel so just 3 x 3/0 copper here.


is this flying THHN/THWN or a SE type cable assembly


Pictures if possible would be a large help
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 11:34 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North and East Texas
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 105
Default

Multi Sub Panels


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joconfire View Post
The main panel (as you call it) is on the outside of the house?

It doesn't sound like there is a disconnect in it. The neutral/ground bond is always at the first means of disconnect.
Yes the main panel is outside the house. It has a disconnect (200 amp breaker).

I agree with you regarding "The neutral/ground bond is always at the first means of disconnect" and that is why I redid the panel I used for the kitchen remodel and also subs past that. I did have to bond grounds to neutrals in the sub panel because there is no seperate ground run but I did put neutrals on one buss bar and grounds on seperate. Once a ground is run I can seperate the 2 via removal of the bonding bracket.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
is this flying THHN/THWN or a SE type cable assembly
Pictures if possible would be a large help
I think it could be some type of SE cable going to the first sub panel. It has 2 conductors wrapped by a copper mesh with pvc coating. Kinda like a coax cable.

I'll see if I can get some pics to post. Won't be there until this coming weekend though.

Last edited by Daltex; 09-18-2012 at 11:40 AM.
Daltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neutral path between two main panels EMiller Electrical 13 03-17-2014 08:48 PM
3 phase panels and sub panels michael825 Electrical 32 08-31-2011 09:43 AM
How to flush water heater that has solar panels Homerepairguy Plumbing 2 11-11-2010 09:26 PM
Replacing 2 Sub Panels with 1 Larger Panel GuitarJack Electrical 7 08-25-2009 09:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts