Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing My 8-guage Wire - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 04:25 PM   #16
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillsBayou View Post

This is new, cut to order wire, so I don't think it's old.
Are you absolutely sure there is no ground? I can't remember the last time I saw a cable with no grounding conductor. It is basically useless cable.
If this came through a friend, WHY would he do that to you???

Please don't confuse an equipment ground with a ground rod. The required ground rod at the outbuilding has NOTHING to do with the required equipment ground run with the feeder. They are two very different things.

Advertisement

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (10-01-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 05:48 PM   #17
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


can you take a picture of this cable?


8-3 rubber cord would be 3 wires, but 8-3 w/g UF would be 4.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:16 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


My mistake. I'm at work trying to recall what I bought 5 months ago. It's 10-3 wire.

If there is any way to salvage this for part of the project, I'd like to know. Otherwise, I'm taking it to be recycled.

BillsBayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 10:24 AM   #19
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


That cables wrong for a number of reasons. Where are you located?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 11:32 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


Louisiana.

So what is that I was sold? What is this wire good for? What should I have bought?
BillsBayou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 01:09 AM   #21
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


That is pretty oddball combation cable you got there espcally with the colour format normally that colour format useally common over here in European side however we don't use that type of cable for many years without ground conductor in there.

So you will have to change to proper one 8-3 with ground UF cable the UF stand is underground feeder so that is the wording there and they are aviable in big box store or electrique supply centre.

One sérieux warning here you will have to use larger conduit if you are comming up from the ground espcally if the cable is flat verison.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 02:57 AM   #22
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by BillsBayou View Post
Louisiana.

So what is that I was sold? What is this wire good for? What should I have bought?
I have no idea what that is. It's pretty weird. The colors are for a 208V three phase system, but it really is an ungrounded cable. That has very few possible applications these days. In fact, I can't think of any. What is the printing on the cable jacket? That should identify the cable type and help determine what it's supposed to be for. It almost looks like submersible well pump cable - but not quite.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 05:51 AM   #23
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Multi-Phase Circuit Breaker? Maximizing my 8-guage wire


There is nothing in any of the OP post's that leads me to believe that he can do this job. Call an electrician.

Advertisement

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (10-03-2012), Speedy Petey (10-03-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wire gauge / circuit breaker and metal clad to Romex FileOpen Electrical 6 03-01-2012 11:00 AM
breakers with multi wire branch circuit (shared neutral) corman Electrical 0 09-11-2011 12:52 AM
Two Different Wire gages on Same Circuit OK? Lovegasoline Electrical 5 12-02-2009 06:00 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 04:09 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 09:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts