Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-01-2008, 03:21 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

To much power


Hi I am wonderinf if anyone can help me.
I am making a 3 bank reptile enclosure and want to know if it is possible to run 3 thermostats running 6 standard lights off 1 power lead. and 3 small 70W-100W Halogens off another power lead.
Or can I run this all off one power lead

Thanks


Last edited by marduk265; 04-01-2008 at 03:24 AM.
marduk265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 05:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 54
Default

To much power


Add up the Watts and divide by 120volts to get the amps.
If your at 12 amps, you are good for a 15amp breaker.

NAIL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 09:27 PM   #3
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

To much power


Just remember not to wire the thermostats in series with each other. Wire them in series with the light you want to control.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 09:51 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2
Default

To much power


Quote:
Originally Posted by goose134 View Post
Just remember not to wire the thermostats in series with each other. Wire them in series with the light you want to control.
Thank you both for your help, I did think that it would be ok I just thought i check, better to be safe. I made up a quick diagram of what I was palanning on doing it would be much apprieciated if someone could varify that it will work fine
thanks agian for your help


marduk265 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2008, 10:46 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,592
Default

To much power


That'll work! As stated above, thermostats always go in series with the load, and parallel with each other. Just like you drew them. If they're single pole thermostats, put the hot (black) wires on the thermostats. The neutrals (white) splice through.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I get power to a new ceiling fan? sestivers Electrical 12 04-25-2011 02:11 PM
Power inverter AndrewL Electrical 6 03-02-2008 01:43 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.