Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2006, 12:12 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

moving thermostat


I want to move my wall-mounted thermostat over by approximately 1 foot; how hard is this?
thanks much.

gumby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2006, 04:29 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,137
Default

moving thermostat


It depends if it is low voltage or line voltage(electric baseboard heaters)

If it is low voltage and you have the extra cable it will be easy. Just get the wire over to the new location and out the wall. Make sure you write down which wire goes where to save yourself more work. Even if you don't have enough cable you could always run a new wire from the furnace.

If it is for electric baseboards that may harder. You will have to get the wires out of the box and run to the new location. Then you will have to install a new box in the wall and run the wires into that and hook up your thermostat. If the wires are not long enough you could use the old box as a junction box and run new wire to the new location and put them in the new box. If you use the old box as a junction box make you put a blank cover over it and not drywall over it; you have to be able to access the junction box.

Hope this helps
Darren

darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOMA Thermostat brobinson68 HVAC 5 01-17-2007 02:36 PM
Thermostat question ctown HVAC 7 12-05-2006 03:46 PM
2 stage heat thermostat problem W1 AND w2 wires whatdoIdonow HVAC 6 11-26-2006 12:04 AM
Lux 722E Thermostat mgkicker HVAC 3 10-27-2006 01:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.