Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-04-2012, 12:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving Subpanel + extending branch wiring


Hello All,
My question is in the last sentence, but here is the background:
I need relocate an existing sub panel that is now right next main panel in order to make room for a 200A Generator ATS.

From reading other posts in this form and others, I know an 8x8 inch or lager J Box can be used to extend the present sub panel branch circuit wiring - I will run new feeder to the sub panel.

I also know the neutrals can not be combined, and the j box must be grounded.

My question is what is permissible and cleanest thing to do with the ground wires. Do I need to splice them individually or can I screw a grounding bus bar into the J box? There are 12 circuits that need to be extended, a mix of 120V 15A and 20A, and 220V 20A and 30A.

Much appreciated,
Ray

raybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 12:51 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Moving Subpanel + extending branch wiring


If you have a buss bar, that is what I would use.
Run the largest conductor needed for the subpanel.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving Subpanel + extending branch wiring


Hi jbfan,
Thanks for your response.. just to clarify, it's ok to screw a grounding/bus bar to the back of the J box and tie all branch grounds to it, and also run a separate ground from the bar back to the sub panel using the same gauge as the largest conductor?

Thanks again,,
raybo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 02:50 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

Moving Subpanel + extending branch wiring


Correct.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garage Subpanel Wiring Question Joe85 Electrical 10 03-06-2011 03:14 PM
moving electrical outlet using aluminum wiring sjenkinz Electrical 3 12-05-2010 02:32 PM
Moving Subpanel loftezy Electrical 8 11-17-2010 11:39 AM
Extending electric wire when moving appliances docmattman General DIY Discussions 3 10-26-2010 07:06 AM
moving wiring runs in attic DoubleD07 Electrical 1 07-23-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.