Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2009, 10:00 AM   #1
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Share |
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Hey gang,

We are going to be moving a small wall and I think the phone line runs through it.

Is it a problem to cut the phone wire and then splice it back together in the new wall?

__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 10:45 AM   #2
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
Hey gang,

We are going to be moving a small wall and I think the phone line runs through it.

Is it a problem to cut the phone wire and then splice it back together in the new wall?
Go for it. Phone lines are easy to work with and have no real special requirements. There is insufficient power available to pose a danger, except while ringing. It would be smart to disconnect the phone service before doing it though, since cutting the ringing voltage is about 90VAC and will make you quite unhappy if someone happens to call while you are holding the wires.

mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 10:46 AM   #3
Registered User
 
Termite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 6,520
Default

moving/splicing phone line


I've done that a couple times in my house with no problems at all. I used those little connectors with dielectric grease in them and had absolutely no loss of signal (two of the individual wires go into each of them and they're crushed with pliers to make the connection). I've honestly never used them in a concealed location though, for that I pull new wire. You could probably do it with a punchdown connector as well but I'd be a bit more concerned about dirtying up the connection.

Phone wire's cheap...Can't pull new?
Termite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 10:50 AM   #4
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Thanks for the help guys. I was worried we weren't allowed to cut and splice the line and I would have to run a new line.


Whew.

Now would a splice impact the data transmission on our DSL line?
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
Now would a splice impact the data transmission on our DSL line?
The spliced wire, and the splice, should have the same "characteristic impedance" as the rest of the wire. I doubt it will be a problem, though.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:22 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
Now would a splice impact the data transmission on our DSL line?
I hope not. I have splices I'm sure, and DSL as well. You will be fine.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 12:40 PM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by drtbk4ever View Post
Now would a splice impact the data transmission on our DSL line?
It may, but probably not. DSL is a fairly tolerant protocol as far as impedance mismatches are concerned - I have heard of people using DSL modems to send data for miles over fence wire. However, try to make your splice as neat as possible, keeping the conductors directly against each other and in a straight line. This will minimize any potential problems.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 01:14 PM   #8
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Cool,

thanks guys.
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:11 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Only problem I have with spicing the wires inside the wall. Can make future troubleshooting of an issue a real pain. Wires seldom go bad - but connections go bad. If you can add a piece of wire and have the spices land in a attic or basement area, it would be getter.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:47 PM   #10
Newbie Bill
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,056
Default

moving/splicing phone line


OK Vsheetz, good info. I will remember that.
__________________
Bill

A DIY Noob that knows just enough to be dangerous.
drtbk4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 03:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
send data for miles over fence wire.
But at a very low transmission rate? I'm thinking way less than 3 kHz with a terrible S/N ratio.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 04:40 PM   #12
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,550
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
But at a very low transmission rate? I'm thinking way less than 3 kHz with a terrible S/N ratio.
Nope, normal DSL speeds. One Motorola DSL modem at each end. The trick is that it's a differential signaling system, and parallel fence wires are actually a decent balanced transmission line.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 05:19 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

moving/splicing phone line


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
Nope, normal DSL speeds. One Motorola DSL modem at each end. The trick is that it's a differential signaling system, and parallel fence wires are actually a decent balanced transmission line.
I keep thinking they will exceed Shannon's theoretical limits for channel capacity. Maybe they already have.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 12:28 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Default

moving/splicing phone line


I would install a blank wall plate at the location of the splice so that someone in the future including yourself can gain access if need be. Would even prefer to see it inside a box behind the blank wall plate.

n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I hide the phone line? MT Stringer General DIY Discussions 14 07-15-2009 05:23 AM
DIY phone junction box for cable telephone service eastie Electrical 5 06-17-2009 07:45 AM
grounding cable tv and normal phone line? russrp Electrical 15 07-05-2008 03:03 PM
Mutiple phone line needs an answering machine Densplace Electrical 5 04-04-2008 10:35 PM
Adding a phone line to an older connect point cramsmith General DIY Discussions 3 11-23-2005 11:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.