Moving A Socket From Left And Stud To Right Hand Stud(and Up 3 Feet) - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2012, 10:27 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Hi,

basic question,

i am about to mount a TV on the wall and i want to replace the floor level socket with one at TV level. the down side is i need it to move from the left stud to the right stud and up about 2-3 feet.

my plan is to remove the lower socket put a blanking plate over it and just push an extra nm14-3 into the box and fish is to the upper location.

are there any considertaions that are needed for the wire moving from the left stud tot eh right stud in this application?

thanks
Raptor

Advertisement

raptor_demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:41 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


You could use 14-2 and that would work if the circuit is on a 15 amp breaker. If it's on a 20 amp breaker it should be 12-2.

Use an old work box for your receptacle and you should be good.

Advertisement

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:53 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Thanks,

i forgot the ground was not included in the wire count.

is there any issue with crossing the wall cavity?

Raptor
raptor_demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 10:57 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


I don't see any problems with crossing from one side to the other. Leave enough wire in both boxes to make your connections and you will be ok.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Quote:
Originally Posted by raptor_demon View Post
Hi,

i want to replace the floor level socket with one at TV level. the down side is i need it to move from the left stud to the right stud and up about 2-3 feet.

my plan is to remove the lower socket put a blanking plate over it and just push an extra nm14-3 into the box and fish is to the upper location.

are there any considertaions that are needed for the wire moving from the left stud tot eh right stud in this application?

thanks
Raptor
why not leave the existing outlet in its place at just feed the new outlet after pigtailing the existing outlet?
Attached Thumbnails
Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)-new-bitmap-image-2-.jpg  
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:03 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


thanks, will give it a shot.
raptor_demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:04 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
why not leave the existing outlet in its place at just feed the new outlet after pigtailing the existing outlet?
I thought about that, but decided to remove the old outlet.

The location is a baby's playroom so that is one less socket she can stick things in.

Raptor
raptor_demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:06 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Quote:
Originally Posted by raptor_demon View Post
I thought about that, but decided to remove the old outlet.
The location is a baby's playroom so that is one less socket she can stick things in.
Raptor
Guess you can always add the outlet back in 8 years when you feel the kid is old enough to not stick things in it.

Are you also removing all other outlets 14" from ground level in the house?
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hammerlane For This Useful Post:
Jay 78 (04-02-2012)
Old 04-02-2012, 11:34 AM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


By code, that outlet probably has to be there, but its your house, and in the grand scheme of things, its not that big of a deal.

(I should amend that statement to read, I assume this is your house)

Last edited by k_buz; 04-02-2012 at 11:40 AM.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:07 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,629
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
By code, that outlet probably has to be there, but its your house, and in the grand scheme of things, its not that big of a deal.

(I should amend that statement to read, I assume this is your house)
Good catch.
The maximum distance between receptacles, measured along the floor line shall be 12 feet

-Glass door fixed panels in exterior walls are counted as wall space
-SLiding panels in exterior walls are not counted as wall space


While receptacles located more than 5.5 feet above the floor are permitted, they are not counted as required receptacles. 210.52
hammerlane is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:42 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Since the old one is blanked off it can always be put back. If it's not needed I would do the same thing in my home.
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:55 PM   #12
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


I agree with you...its not that big of a deal as I stated above, I do have 3 problems with blanking it off.

1) Where is the TV equipment? It is usually right below the TV.
2) If that outlet is needed in the future, what is easier, extension cord you have laying around, or reinstalling the outlet.
3) It may not be code compliant to remove that outlet. The code doesn't say that you can exclude outlets you won't use from the "6/12 rule"

Just pointing some things out that the OP may not have thought of...that's all...not arguing.
k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:30 PM   #13
Licensed Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SC
Posts: 1,546
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


It may also not be code compliant to add an additional cable to the existing box and retain the receptacle. So pick your poison
__________________
"Life is hard. Life is harder when you're stupid." John Wayne
HouseHelper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:42 PM   #14
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,110
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


If your hanging a tv on the wall you will need the cable from the tv too in the location of the outlet.they sell kits to retro fit that will allow you to do just that.
As for weather running cable from the existing outlet or blanking being up to code ,worry about if/when you sell your house an if a home inspector even catches it.

Last edited by sublime2; 04-02-2012 at 01:51 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 01:46 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving a socket from left and stud to right hand stud(and up 3 feet)


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Guess you can always add the outlet back in 8 years when you feel the kid is old enough to not stick things in it.

Are you also removing all other outlets 14" from ground level in the house?
@hammerlane
no, not going that far but i figured that it couldn't hurt to have one less around and i can always add it back in easily. Plus there is less of a chance of overloading the circuit, I'm not adding just moving the one that existed. maybe i will reconsider tonight when i have the wall open.


@k_buz
yes it is my house, and i will check but i think there is a socket within 12 feet on the same wall.
The TV equipment will be in the room directly behind the TV on a different socket with the HDMI,Component and IR cables running thru. The idea is to have just the TV on the wall.

@HouseHelper i will check the fill level of the box before i do this.

Advertisement

raptor_demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving a load bearing stud Tonglebeak Building & Construction 34 07-07-2010 01:32 PM
Moving a Stud HooKooDooKu Building & Construction 5 02-23-2010 02:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts