Moving Phone Jack - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-12-2009, 11:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Hi,
I am renovating my kitchen and while the baseboards are off i felt it would be a good time for this. I would like to move my phone jack down the wall about 6 feet to hide if behind a cabinet. Is this as simple as matching the wiring and extending it down the wall, then put the jack back on?

I dont think i have to turn off any electricity for this right?

Advertisement

scotty123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:14 AM   #2
Whatamess
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 423
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Moving Phone Jack


You have the right idea. No electrical problems.

Advertisement

__________________
I may go home hungry, but not tired and hungry.
TazinCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:17 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Quote:
Is this as simple as matching the wiring and extending it down the wall, then put the jack back on?
Yeah.

The only tricky part is stripping the insulation off the tiny wires without damaging the wire itself.

The connectors you use to splice the wires are important also. Those wires are really really small.

Phone line voltage won't hurt you.....generally.

Don't strip it with your teeth when someone's calling in.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:38 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Ok thanks, i got a little more info. The are two wires coming into the jack, both have a green, black, yellow and red wire which are connected to the corresponding wire screws. The wires from where the plug is have the same four wires but the black and yellow are not connected to anything. I'm assuming this is done right, are the black and yellow wires for posible future phone line additions or something like that?

Also im assuming there are two sets of wires coming into the box because it is hooked up in parallel?
scotty123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 01:52 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Moving Phone Jack


The black and yellow were used to power a lighted dial in the older phones. You could use them for a second number if you wanted to.

There are connectors made for phone wire that do not require the wires to be stripped. They use insulation dispalcement instead. Scotch calls then UR3 I believe.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 02:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Thanks very much, you have been very helpful.
scotty123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 02:25 PM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The black and yellow were used to power a lighted dial in the older phones. You could use them for a second number if you wanted to.

There are connectors made for phone wire that do not require the wires to be stripped. They use insulation dispalcement instead. Scotch calls then UR3 I believe.
They sell the connectors as mentioned above at the big box stores. They are far and away the easiest thing for someone without telco tools to use to make connecions.
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 10:47 PM   #8
Electrician
 
ctsmiths's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Naugatuck, CT
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
The black and yellow were used to power a lighted dial in the older phones. You could use them for a second number if you wanted to.
You also need these for digital phones ( all 4 wires that is), not that you have any.
ctsmiths is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2009, 11:47 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Moving Phone Jack


When working on telephone wires you should either disconnect the line at the demarc box outside your house (this is a box installed by the telephone company) or make sure a phone is off the hook when working on the wires.

There is 96 volts AC that comes through the phone line when the phone is ringing, and if you happen to be touching the red and green wires when a call comes in it will give you a shock, believe me I have been there done that!

I have never heard of the Black/Yellow wires being used for anything other than a second phone line, but I guess anything is possible. In most homes the second pair of wires is never used since most people only have one phone line. Newer homes are being wired with cat 3/cat5 which has 8 wires in the bundle allowing up to 4 phone lines or 2 phone lines and LAN connection (split pairs).

The digital phones I have seen use only 2 wires.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 06:47 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: South Western Ontario
Posts: 955
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Scotty if you're not already done be careful stripping the insulataion. It is easy to nick the strand underneath and then the wire breaks when you twist it. I have a micro stripper for this but sometimes you can actually use a thumbnail dug in or the tips of your pliers.
Chemist1961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 07:11 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving Phone Jack


I use these. Some wires don't work well with the stripping notches. If not, I just grip the insulation gently with the scissors and pull. The insulation usually pulls right off.
http://www.sjgreatdeals.com/kln21007.html

Last edited by jerryh3; 02-13-2009 at 08:44 AM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 08:28 AM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,431
Rewards Points: 2,524
Default

Moving Phone Jack


For those that stated about stripping the Telephone wiring, when splicing, no you do not strip the wires, but use Scothloc connectors. As for moving it, that is simple, and if able to pull to somewhere else without splicing, do it.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2009, 11:21 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Moving Phone Jack


During our major remodel I removed any telephone jack that me relocate it - with the advent of low cost long range cordless phones with multiple phones (charging jacks only, requiring just a AC outlet) I have no corded phones in the house. The base unit with answering machine resides in the my home office where there is the one jack that is needed.

BTW - get the newer DECT phones that operate at 1.8 Mhz to eliminate interference with your comouter wireless LAN and they give great range, features, etc.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 01:14 PM   #14
Electrician's Helper
 
Pudge565's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 202
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Pudge565
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Yea but if you only have cordless phones when the power goes out after the batteries die you have no phone.
__________________
There is no such thing as a stupid question, but there is such a thing as an ignorant person, with a question, trying to learn.
Pudge565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2009, 08:40 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Columbia Heights/NE Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 86
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Moving Phone Jack


Quote:
Originally Posted by Pudge565 View Post
Yea but if you only have cordless phones when the power goes out after the batteries die you have no phone.
Most cordless phones have no backup batteries in the base station, so if the power goes out, the base can't communicate with the handset. One should always have a plain old corded phone on hand just in case. (Of course, if you have a landline from your cable company, the phone modem thingy loses power in an outage, and you have no phone anyway--so YMMV.)

Advertisement

thegonagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
phone jack wiring JAVAMAN General DIY Discussions 7 03-18-2008 05:19 PM
Phone Jack Hookup Problem kennykenny Electrical 18 12-07-2007 04:48 PM
Electrical outlet phone jack extension? mikehende Electrical 3 11-28-2007 09:05 PM
New Phone Jack Install - Q & A 101 allen1466 Electrical 7 07-18-2007 12:46 AM
Installation of new phone jack alvanos Electrical 4 04-05-2006 07:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts