Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2011, 01:15 PM   #1
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Share |
Default

Moving multiwire circuits


For my future planning purposes, can anyone give me a run-down on what I will need to do with some of my existing circuits when I get to the point that I am moving them to my new 200 amp panel, which is located in a different room than the current 100 amp main panel.

Some background:
The 200A panel is going to be the main panel after my current project is done, the goal eventually is to move all circuits to the 200A panel. The 200A panel is currently serving the second floor and the kitchen, the 100A panel primarily is serving the first floor. No basement, house on crawlspace. The detatched garage is getting a 100A subpanel as part of the current project as well.

Most of the remaining circuits on the 100A panel are using 3-conductor cable, primarily 14-3 off of 15A circuits and 2 20A circuits using 12-3. Shared neutral between both circuits, then black going to one breaker and red to another. The 14-3 won't reach the new panel...

The new wiring will be done under permit and to 2008 NEC so these will need to be AFCI circuits (aside from the bathroom, which is more straightforward since it has GFCI... And I'll need to seperate the crawlspace outlets which need GFCI)

My question is if there's any way of using the 3-conductor cable, or if it's going to need to be replaced so I have neutral conductors for each circuit? And can I expect to find that these circuits probably have 12-2 or 14-2 for the individual branches?

I'm going to have to replace receptacles with TR receptacles too aren't I?

ETA: Just read a thread from 2008 that stated 2008 NEC will require double pole breakers for MWBC... Since AFCI is required and AFAIK there aren't AFCI double pole breakers, does this effectively mean MWBC's are out with 2008 NEC?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.

Last edited by WillK; 06-21-2011 at 01:20 PM.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:36 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,680
Default

Moving multiwire circuits


Siemens, GE, Cutler-Hammer and Square D all manufacture 2 pole AFCI's.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:49 PM   #3
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Moving multiwire circuits


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Siemens, GE, Cutler-Hammer and Square D all manufacture 2 pole AFCI's.
Oof... definitely not at HD, and I just checked with my go-to eletrical supply store also and they don't carry Cutler-Hammer. My panel is Homeline so I the QO breakers won't fit. CH fits Homeline if I can find them, is that correct?
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 01:57 PM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,680
Default

Moving multiwire circuits


I believe I mis-read the catalog for SQ D. They apparently do not make a Homeline 2 pole AFCI. I think the CH BR series breakers will work in a Homeline.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 02:33 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,472
Default

Moving multiwire circuits


With your inspector problems, the last thing I would do is put a cutler hammer breaker inside a homeline box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
HouseHelper (06-21-2011), SD515 (06-21-2011)
Old 06-21-2011, 07:12 PM   #6
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Default

Moving multiwire circuits


Okay, I'll just approach this as a matter that it would be preferred to run new 2-conductor cable to eliminate the MWBC where possible, but if it for some reason seems to be problematic I'll consider a smaller sub-panel (might only need 60A lug or something like that) from a brand where double pole AFCI is more readily available.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving an 8x10 wooden shed 100 miles; how? (Video of shed inside) snowfall General DIY Discussions 32 10-23-2012 08:54 PM
Split receptacles, double pole breakers and multiple circuits in a junction box. morganhammer Electrical 6 04-05-2011 04:38 PM
short circuit. reset the breaker, but no power bp91708 Electrical 10 03-18-2011 10:07 AM
multiwire branch circuit question Jeremy Hillary Boob, PhD Electrical 9 11-18-2008 03:16 PM
Moving several circuits to sub panel WoodworkerDave Electrical 2 09-27-2008 02:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.