Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2010, 12:37 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

moving mistake


We are re-arranging our laundry room and needed to move the dryer plug down the wall about 2 feet. This was easily accomplished, as the back of the wall is in the crawl space and I could see that there was enough slack in the wire. We turned off the power, removed the wires from the receptacle, removed the receptacle from the plastic mounting box it was in, cut a new hole a couple feet down, re-installed the plastic mounting box, re-inserted the wires into the plastic box and realized our mistake. When disconnecting the wires, we forgot to look at what goes where when we re-connect. We have red, black, bare copper and white (which had a plastic wire cap on it when we opened the box initially). I am going to assume that the white is the neutral and should remain capped. I am left with 3 wires and 3 holes to put them in, but I don't know what goes where. I have spent close to 2 hours searching the internet for a diagram of this and can't find one that looks like our receptacle. HELP!!!

This might be relevant, too.....When we got the dryer (used) it had a plug different from the one in our wall (wall had 4 prongs). We purchased a 3-prong and when we went to install it, found that the 3-prong for dryers also didn't match. The guy at the hardware store said that the plug on the back of the dryer was typically for a range, not a dryer, but wouldn't make a difference because they had the same voltage/amps. Thanks!

neva314 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 12:53 AM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

moving mistake


If your cable do have 4 conductor like black , red , white and bare conductor it must use all 4 conductor per NEC code and when you move it to diffrent location it will automatically update to new codes { you can not use grandfather clause due you move to new location }

Let me post couple photos so you can see where this goes




That above is 4 wire verison dryer recetpale now next photo is for stove



This is a 4 wire 50 amp receptale that is differnt than dryer.

The dryer must use 30 amp fuse or breaker with 6.0mm˛ { #10 AWG } conductors.

By the way the bare conductor is NOT a current carry conductor it only used for fault situation that it so you have netural { white conductor } so use it for netural.

Merci.
Marc

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:56 AM   #3
No Hacks Allowed!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

moving mistake


Be careful prowling around inside your load center breaker panel!


Be sure to verify that the capped white (neutral) dryer conductor is actually connected to the neutral bar in the breaker panel.


Click on the links below for wiring info:

Wiring a Dryer and Power Cord (Option 1)

Wiring a Dryer with a 4-Wire Power Cord (Page 12)

Wiring a Dryer with a 4-Wire Power Cord (Page 11)



Good luck!
NoHax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 03:31 AM   #4
No Hacks Allowed!
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

moving mistake


Be sure to follow the 4-wire power cord wiring instructions carefully where it explicitly denotes that you must remove the Bonding Jumper / Ground Strap that goes between the neutral terminal on the back of the dryer and the dryer frame ground screw.

The white neutral wire on the power cord connects to the neutral terminal on the terminal block. The green ground wire on the power cord connects to the dryer frame ground screw. The green ground wire must NOT be connected to the neutral terminal at any time when using a 4-wire power cord.



Good luck!
NoHax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 02:15 PM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,689
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

moving mistake


A typical range uses a 40 or 50 amp 240 circuit. Dryers are 30 amp at 240. The cords should not be interchangeable.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 07:23 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,842
Rewards Points: 2,478
Blog Entries: 4
Default

moving mistake


Terminals marked X & Y are the hots(red and black) It doesn't matter which goes where. Green is ground and N is White.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dryer outlet, relocating


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving an 8x10 wooden shed 100 miles; how? (Video of shed inside) snowfall General DIY Discussions 32 10-23-2012 08:54 PM
Big Mistake Please Help speedin Flooring 5 07-11-2010 02:12 AM
Concrete Contractor and Masonry Contractor made a huge mistake homeowner12 Building & Construction 19 07-07-2010 09:37 PM
Moving a support post RaH Building & Construction 5 03-07-2010 08:48 PM
I used ceiling paint instead of primer by mistake SOCCERDAD Painting 4 03-25-2009 05:36 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.