Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-24-2006, 02:47 PM   #1
MLO
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Great Northwest
Posts: 85
Share |
Default

Moving the mast and panel


For aesthetic reasons and simplicity in the main line routing, I am thinking of putting a new 200 amp panel in a mst. b/r. Any reason I should reconsider?

MLO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 06:05 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Moving the mast and panel


I don't understand how that could be aesthetically better, but that's your call. I don't think it's a good idea, but I don't have anything to back it up other than the code says the panel can't near (within so many feet) combustible materials such as clothing. I always like to see them in a hall way because nothing will ever get piled in front of it, and you could hang a picture in front of it if you like.

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 06:59 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,389
Default

Moving the mast and panel


You can't put it in a closet if you were thinking of that option to hide it. You need a 30x36 space in front of the panel that is always clear. No dressers or beds etc in that area.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2006, 10:35 PM   #4
MLO
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Great Northwest
Posts: 85
Default

Moving the mast and panel


I should have clarified my rationale...currently the feed line runs diagonally across the front yard to the garage, with-in about 5' of the front door and living rm. window. Moving it to the mst. b/r lets the line run down the side property line and out of your field of vision from inside the home. It also keeps the line higher off the yard as the grade is sloped.
MLO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 06:21 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,696
Default

Moving the mast and panel


Then just consider moving the mast, and refeeding the current panel where it is located. Do you need a new 200 amp panel? If so then replace the one you have. You may have to do some upgrading anyway, depending on local codes.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 09:37 AM   #6
MLO
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Great Northwest
Posts: 85
Default

Moving the mast and panel


Yes, a larger panel is being neccesitated by the remodel and as you guessed, local codes.
MLO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2006, 05:44 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Moving the mast and panel


What jbfan mentioned is a good way to go so you don't have to move all your branch circuits, unless a total re-wire is what you were planning?

Sparky Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Svc Panel location near G. Door wannabuild Electrical 1 01-15-2007 08:48 AM
Moving feed line and mast... MLO Electrical 4 01-19-2006 04:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.