Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2009, 08:57 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Moving a light switch


Hi,

I just found this forum while searching for stuff on google and thought I'd join as I will probably be wanting to learn lot of DIY type work as I just bought a house. I'm getting lot of stuff done professionally but I still want to tackle some of it myself for the experience and to save $$$.

Anyway, on to my question.
First starting with pics

The first switch is a double, one switch for outside and one for entrance (door is just behind me taking pic of that wall). The wire seems to come from the top so I guess it's fed through the attic and I'm guessing there may be a junction box there that I can work from but not sure.

The second pic is just on the other side of that wall and it's the kitchen light.

I want to combine them all into one 3-switch spot so the kitchen one is just going to be flipped over, the other two moved across. It's the two that will be tricky because of the studs. What is best way to do a move like this? Should I rerun from the attic or is there an easier way?

If I have enough slack I can drill through the stud and pass the wire, but I doubt there will be enough.

I also thought of just running new wire from the old spot and cover the old box, but that's not really a good way of doing things and may even be against code.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 09:03 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Moving a light switch


How many wires are in that double switch box, and do they all run up to the attic? It may be a simple matter of pulling the wires up in the attic, mounting a splice box, and extending the lines down to the new switch location.

As for the switch behind the side of the fridge, simply remove the nails from the box, loosen the clamp that holds the wire into the box, and carefully remove the box. Sometimes I just let the old box fall into the wall cavity.

If you cut your 3-gang hole on the opposite side, the wire should easily be installed into the new box facing the other way.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2009, 09:07 PM   #3
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Moving a light switch


There's just one wire that goes to the double, and it has 3 wires in it + the ground. If there actually is slack then it should be easy as I can drill through the stud to feed it to the new location, but otherwise not too sure what to do. (there's at least one stud between the double and where I want to put it)

For the single it should be easy enough but I may have to tear part of the drywall. The box was nailed in sideways before the drywall was applied. I can always just cut the nail away too... Then just need to flip the box to the new side after cutting my hole. The boxes look like the modular type so I can just unscrew the sides and then combine the single and double to make a 3.

Oh and most of the wiring seems to be paper insulated with a tarish substance. Should I be replacing all of these wires? the small wires inside look like normal modern wires though, it's just the main cable that is not using standard insulation. Even my 240v oven plug uses such cabling (but bigger).

Last edited by Red Squirrel; 06-28-2009 at 09:11 PM.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can a power surge flip a light switch? bluebee1314 Electrical 9 07-13-2009 02:33 AM
HowTo: Adding two exterior lights + switch, piggyback new switch off existing switch? ghost Electrical 14 04-19-2009 05:04 PM
Hunter Fan Dual Switch Wiring Configuration Help schierle Electrical 2 03-29-2009 08:00 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM
Adding second light switch to an existing light TexasEd Electrical 7 08-15-2008 06:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.