Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-05-2009, 12:04 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
Share |
Default

Moving light switch


I should say moved, not moving. I moved around two light switches this weekend. The two switches were joined together in a double gang box, one switch controls an outlet in a nearby room (wanted to move this into the room) the other controls a series of recessed lights.

To do this I basically cut out some drywall and got into the attic and pulled the existing wire up (4 seperate runs of romex) out of the wall and connected it all into a double gang sized box that I installed in the attic. And then I added two new runs of romex coming out of the box to each of my new locations for the switches. My real problem is with 4 wires going in to this box in the attic and two coming out to switches I really ran out of space for stapling wires and the whole thing looks pretty messy by my standards.

Should I spend some time trying to organize and clean up the wires? I'm afraid some inspector some day might take a look at this and freak out. Or am I just paranoid? I should probably take a picture and post it.

lofar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 07:31 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
Default

Moving light switch


So here's a pic. I guess it doesn't look that bad, I'm just a little paraoid and like everything I do to look neat and tidy.


lofar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:19 PM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Moving light switch


The only problem I see is the box may be too small for all the wires.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 10:53 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Moving light switch


That long white piece of romex coming off the top and around the side to the bottom may need to be secured closer to the box. I believe the wire must be secured within 12" of the box; I would assume that 12" is from the point at which the wire actually enters the box.

And yeah I have installed a few of those blue 4" boxes recently and I know that even if all those wires are 14 gauge that box is still way over fill capacity.

Looks like 2 - 14/3 and 4 - 14/2 wires. By my calculation that requires a minimum box capacity of 30 cu in. Those blue boxes are only 18 cu in, and with a 1/2" single gang mud ring it adds about 3 cu in.

Math:
2 - 14/3 = 6
4 - 14/2 = 8
All Grounds = 1
Total: 15
x2.0 = 30 cu in required space
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 11:23 PM   #5
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Default

Moving light switch


What are those black wires?
Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 06:31 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,688
Default

Moving light switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigs View Post
What are those black wires?
Some older 3x wire was black in color.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 09:11 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 42
Default

Moving light switch


Thanks... The wires are snug in the box but not forced, but I can get a bigger box easy enough. The top white wire should be within 12" of the staple, there's not much to compare for scale there but that particular space is only about 3 feet in height max.

You're pretty close on what all the wires are. The two blacks on the bottom are some of the old 3 wire romex, the two blues are the old 2 wire romex and the two whites are my new 3 wire romex to the switches.

lofar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving a switch from the light to the wall justin2501 Electrical 14 07-02-2009 09:32 PM
Wiring from light to switch and on poorjohn Electrical 3 03-16-2009 01:23 PM
question moving light switch niemie13 Electrical 4 01-09-2009 02:12 PM
Replacing a bathroom fan switch cmacjr22 Electrical 4 11-04-2008 06:14 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 12:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.