Moving An Electrical Panal Box From Outside To Inside - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 06:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


When they built my home I had my garage converted into a family room so they placed the electrical panal box outside, I 'd like to have it moved inside and if possible to have it recessed into the wall. At teh same time I'd like to have a generator add to tie into the houses panal box since we loss power so much. is this possible and what type of cost am I looking at.

Advertisement

rdwarfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 07:45 AM   #2
Member
 
eastcoastsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pennsauken, NJ
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by rdwarfield
When they built my home I had my garage converted into a family room so they placed the electrical panal box outside, I 'd like to have it moved inside and if possible to have it recessed into the wall. At teh same time I'd like to have a generator add to tie into the houses panal box since we loss power so much. is this possible and what type of cost am I looking at.
Yes anything is possible if you have money. Abd for the price it all depends on factors that we can not even see, so its no way to tell

Advertisement

eastcoastsparky is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to eastcoastsparky For This Useful Post:
JulieMor (03-23-2013)
Old 03-23-2013, 08:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,709
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Time to make some local calls to some real electritions.
In my opion not a DIY job at all.
He's also going to need to get a permit to do this.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
JulieMor (03-23-2013)
Old 03-23-2013, 11:28 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Note the fire department likes to have a main shut-off switch outside so they can easily turn off all the electricity if there is a fire.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:49 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


There is no requirement for an outside disco. None of my residential services have one.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Always check local amendments. (Ask local electrical inspector's office.)
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 12:44 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
There is no requirement for an outside disco. None of my residential services have one.
I know what you mean.
Most in my area do require it, so it is standard everywhere.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 08:52 PM   #8
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,335
Rewards Points: 3,464
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Note the fire department likes to have a main shut-off switch outside so they can easily turn off all the electricity if there is a fire.
Must be a local thing. There is no such requirement where I live and I have not heard that one before.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 09:07 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,709
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Not required here ether.
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 10:04 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Moving an electrical panal box from outside to inside


Here is one... An Alaska amendment says this...

"23.30.230.70(A)(1) Disconnect at readily accessible location
Add a second paragraph:
The service disconnecting means shall be operable from the exterior of the
building if the service disconnect is within the building"...
http://www.muni.org/Departments/OCPD...20NEC_2011.pdf

Here is another local amendment for the city of Tempe...

"Article 230.70(A)(1) is hereby amended as follows:
230.70(A)(1). Readily accessible location. The service disconnecting means shall be installed at a readily accessible location either outside of a building or structure, or inside nearest the point of entrance of the service conductors. The service disconnecting means shall be installed adjacent to and accessible from the same working area as the utility meter.

All service disconnecting means located inside a building shall be enclosed within a room or space separated from the rest of the building by not less than a one-hour fire-resistive fire barrier."

The City of Evans, Colorado says...

"For a one-family dwelling, the service disconnecting means shall be located on the exterior of the structure adjacent to or combined with the utility meter enclosure. (Ord. 539-12)"

http://www.cityofevans.org/municipal...-electric-code

Etc.

Advertisement


Last edited by Billy_Bob; 03-23-2013 at 10:09 PM.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Bathroom - all electrical on one circuit? how to change? Steve19 Electrical 16 03-14-2011 10:32 AM
Run electrical through foundation to power lamp posts? Drywater Electrical 4 12-08-2010 12:39 PM
Moving oven and cooktop to island; need electrical advice worldtravelerall7 Electrical 3 06-17-2007 04:32 PM
moving an electrical outlet bobo Electrical 4 05-21-2005 01:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts